You are here

Sunningdale EMI Care Home Requires improvement

We are carrying out checks at Sunningdale EMI Care Home. We will publish a report when our check is complete.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 30 November 2017

The inspection took place on 19 September 2017 and was unannounced. There were 39 people living at the home on the day of our inspection.

Sunningdale is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The home accommodates 41 people in a single adapted building in mixture of single and shared room.

The home has a registered manager who has been in post for over six years. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

The last inspection report was published on 17 August 2016. At the last inspection the overall rating for the home was ‘requires improvement’. There were no breaches of regulation at the last inspection. During this inspection we found some improvements had been made however we also identified areas where further improvements were needed.

People told us they felt safe. Staff knew how to recognise and report any concerns about people’s safety and welfare.

Everyone we spoke with told us there were always enough staff available. We found staff were well trained and knew how to meet people’s needs. However, we found the correct recruitment procedures were not always followed. While criminal records checks were always carried out other checks such as references were not always obtained.

People told us they received their medicines at the right time. Overall people’s medicines were managed safely. However, we recommended the provider review their policies and procedures to make sure staff were working in line with up to date guidance on good practice.

Risks to people’s safety and welfare were identified and managed. The home was clean and well maintained and people had access to safe outdoor space.

People had confidence in the staff. They felt the staff were well trained. Staff told us they felt well supported in their roles. The provider had a continuous training programme and we saw new staff had received a lot of training. Some of the longer serving staff were overdue to attend training updates of safe working practices. Some of this, for example, moving and handling had already been booked.

The service was working in line with the requirements of The Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) which helped to make sure people’s rights were promoted and protected. This had improved since our last inspection.

Everyone was very complimentary about the food and we saw improvements had been made to give people a better meal time experience. People had access to drinks and snacks throughout the day. However, we found some improvements were needed to the recording of people’s dietary intake.

People had good access to health care services. Staff worked with other health care professionals to make people got the support they needed to meet their health care needs.

We found staff were caring and treated people with dignity and respect. We saw they knew people well and were patient with people. They asked for permission before they started to support people and explained what they were doing. People were supported to maintain their independence.

The registered manager promoted a person centred approach which helped to make sure people were cared for as individuals.

Before people moved in they were encouraged to visit the home and their needs were assessed. This helped to make sure the home had the right resources to meet their needs.

People had care plans to guide staff on how to meet their needs. However, we found care plans were not always put in place quickly enough when people moved in and this created a risk they would not receive

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 30 November 2017

The service was not always safe.

People told us they received their medicines at the right time. Overall, medicines were managed safety; we made a recommendation to help improve consistency.

There were enough staff available to meet people’s needs.

The provider did not always follow robust recruitment procedures; some checks such as satisfactory references had not carried out before new staff started work.

People were protected from harm. Staff knew how to recognise and report concerns about people’s safety and welfare.

The home was clean and well maintained.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 30 November 2017

The service was not always effective.

The service was working in accordance with the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act. This helped to protect and promote people’s rights.

Staff worked well with other health and social care professionals to make sure people maintained good health.

People enjoyed the meals but improvements were needed to the recording of people's nutritional intake.

Staff received the training they needed to deliver effective person centred care safely but the provided needed to make sure all staff were kept up to date with training on safe working practices.

Caring

Good

Updated 30 November 2017

The service remains good.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 30 November 2017

The service was not always responsive.

People’s needs were assessed. When people moved into the home care plans were not always put in place quickly enough to make sure staff knew about their needs. People were not always enabled to take part in planning how their care needs should be met.

People were supported to take part in a variety of activities and social events.

People knew how to make a complaint if they needed to. People told us they had nothing to complain about.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 30 November 2017

The service was not always well led.

People were very complimentary about the service and everyone we spoke with said they would recommend it.

People, relatives and staff told us they felt the registered manager was approachable and acted quickly in response to any concerns or issues.

Improvements were needed to the processes for checking the quality and safety of the services provided.