You are here

Petersham Centre Care Home Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 21 October 2017

We inspected this service on 29 September 2017. This was an announced inspection as we wanted to ensure there were people available to tell us about the service. This inspection was completed by one inspector. At our last inspection in September 2015 we found the service to be meeting the requirements of the regulations and we rated the service as ‘Good’. At this inspection the service remains ‘Good’.

The service was registered to provide accommodation and personal care for up to 16 people with learning disabilities. The home was divided into three units. One unit for those developing skills to enable them to be independent, a unit for people who required more support and a short stay unit for people to receive respite. Some people had lived at the home for long periods whilst others accessed the home for short term respite care. At the time of our inspection, there were nine people using the service on a permanent basis and seven using the service for respite.

The service had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People felt there was enough staff to support their needs and they made them feel safe. Risks relating to the environment and activities had been assessed and reviewed. If required equipment had been ordered to make the environment safe.

The provider had followed a recruitment process that ensured people were supported by staff whose suitability had been checked. Staff told us the training available to them was varied and provided them with the skills they required for their role.

People received their medicines as prescribed and there was a flexible approach when people went out or changed their daily routine. There was a varied choice of meals and people felt they could be part of the menu planning for their meals. Some people were supported to cook their own meals and other people had been engaged in making the meal for the other people using the service.

We saw some people were unable to make some decisions. In these instances people had been supported through a best interest approach. Some people were under constant supervision and for these people an application had been made to ensure this was done legally

The staff had developed positive relationships with people and embraced their activities and interests. People were respected in relation to their decisions and their environment when they received personal care. Relatives were welcome at the home and opportunities had been made to maintain relationships.

There was a complaints policy which had been followed when required. People felt able to raise any concerns and were confident they would be addressed. People’s opinions had been considered in making improvements.

The provider used a range of audits to maintain standards and consider improvements. The registered manager understood the requirements in relation to notifying us of events. We saw the rating had been displayed in the reception of the home and it was also accessible on the providers website.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 21 October 2017

The service remained safe

Effective

Good

Updated 21 October 2017

The service remains effective

Caring

Good

Updated 21 October 2017

The service remains caring

Responsive

Good

Updated 21 October 2017

The service remains good in responsive

Well-led

Good

Updated 21 October 2017

The service remains good in welled