You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Franklyn Lodge The Farm House. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 1 June 2017

We undertook this unannounced inspection on 6 and 7 April 2017.

Franklyn Lodge The Farm House is a care home registered for a maximum of six adults who have a learning disability. At the time of our visit, there were six people living in the home.

At our previous inspection on 9 October 2014, we rated the service as “Good” and there were no breaches of regulations. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

People who used the service informed us that they were satisfied with the care and services provided. They had been treated with respect and felt safe living in the home. Care workers we spoke with showed an understanding of how to recognise and report allegations of abuse. Risks to people who used the service were assessed and appropriate risk management plans were in place.

Care workers were carefully recruited and staffing levels were adequate. Medicines were managed safely. The premises were clean and tidy and infection control arrangements were in place.

Care workers had been provided with essential training. There were regular staff supervisions. However, some appraisals had not been carried out in the past twelve months. The registered manager and personnel manager informed us that they would be carried out soon.

People who used the service had been provided with support to enable them to have choice and control of their life. Care workers understood their responsibilities in relation to the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS). Restrictions placed on people had been properly authorised. People’s healthcare and nutritional needs had been attended to.

People looked happy and could participate in activities they liked. Care workers were aware of the importance of treating people with respect and ensuring their dignity and privacy were maintained. There were arrangements for ensuring that the care provided was centred on the person who used the service. Reviews by health and social care professionals indicated that people had settled well in the home and were well cared for. The service had a complaints procedure. The service had not received any complaints since our last inspection.

Care workers worked well together. Appropriate policies and procedures were in place. Care records were up to date. Quality assurance checks and audits were seen by us. These ensured that people received a high quality of care.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 1 June 2017

The service was safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 1 June 2017

The service was effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 1 June 2017

The service was caring

Responsive

Good

Updated 1 June 2017

The service was responsive

Well-led

Good

Updated 1 June 2017

The service was well-led.