You are here

Archived: Charlton House Residential Care Home Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 2 August 2018

Charlton House Residential Care Home is a care home. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Charlton House provides accommodation with personal care for up to four people. At the time of our inspection two people were living in the home.

At the last inspection in August 2016 we found a breach of the regulation relating to quality assurance and we issued a requirement action. Overall, we rated the service as Good. Following the inspection, the provider sent us an action plan telling us how they would make the required improvements.

We carried out a comprehensive inspection on 11 July 2018. At this inspection, we found improvements had been made and the legal requirements had been met.

Overall, the service remains Good.

One of the registered providers was also the registered person/manager. The registered providers, who lived on the premises, had registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Registered persons have a legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

The registered person worked every day and employed one member of staff. This was sufficient to meet people’s needs at the time of our visit. Staff performance was monitored through supervision and appraisal.

Medicines were safely managed. Actions were taken after the inspection to make sure supporting records were fully maintained.

Staff demonstrated a good understanding of safeguarding and knew how to report concerns.

People were helped to exercise support and control over their lives. People were supported to consent to care and make decisions.

Risk assessments and risk management plans were in place. Actions were taken after the inspection to make sure risks associated with legionella were identified and managed. Incidents and accidents were recorded.

People were provided with choices at mealtimes. Healthy eating was promoted.

Staff were kind and caring. People were being treated with dignity and respect and people’s privacy was maintained.

Systems were in place to monitor the quality of the service provided. People were given the opportunity to provide feedback.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 2 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 2 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 2 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 2 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 2 August 2018

The service has improved to Good.

The registered person assessed, monitored and mitigated risks to people. Their system needed to be further strengthened to make sure all risks were fully identified so actions could be taken when needed.

A registered person was in post. People spoke positively about the leadership in the home and could provide feedback and express their views.

The registered person recognised their responsibilities regarding notifications required by the Commission.