You are here

Archived: Coppice Lodge Requires improvement

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 5 July 2017

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection of this service on 25 and 26 October 2016. At which two breaches of legal requirements were found. This was because the registered provider checks and audits did not assess, monitor and drive improvement in the quality and safety of the services provided. In addition, the registered provider had not made all relevant notifications to Care Quality Commission (CQC). A notification is information about important events which the provider is required to send us by law and CQC requires this information to look at the risks to people who use care services.

After the comprehensive inspection, the provider wrote to us to say what they would do to meet legal requirements in relation to the breaches. We undertook a focused inspection on the 31 May 2017 to check that they had followed their plan and to confirm that they now met legal requirements.

This report only covers our findings in relation to these requirements. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for ‘Coppice Lodge’ on our website at www.cqc.org.uk’

Coppice Lodge is registered to provide accommodation and personal care for a maximum of eight people. There were seven people living at the home on the day of the inspection.

There was a registered manager in place who is also the registered provider. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Since the last inspection the provider had made changes to the staffing team and had appointed three senior carers to provide further support to staff and develop lead roles within the home. Staff told us that supervisions and staff meetings were now in place and that they were able to ask for advice and support when needed from the senior carers. Staff told us this supported them to provide more responsive care. We saw that senior care staff had recently completed supervision training to support the completion of regular staff supervisions.

All staff we spoke with said there had been improvements in the management of the service and this had a positive impact on the care and support provided. Staff told us people were being supported with more responsive care, for example, there were now more activities within the home based on people’s individual choices

Checks and audits were now in place to monitor and drive improvement in the quality and safety of the services provided. For example, there was now a system of audits to record and monitor accidents and incidents in place to identify trends, so staff could take appropriate action to reduce the likelihood of events from happening again.

Records showed notifications had been made as required to CQC. A system was now in place to record and monitor Deprivation of Liberty (DOL) applications and authorisations. However, we found that whilst improvements had been made, the provider needed to review systems used to ensure they were robust enough to identify all instances when action needed to be taken.

.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 20 December 2016

The service was safe.

People received support from staff to help them stay safe. Staff knew how to recognise risks and report any concerns

Staff were available to people and supported them to take their medicines when needed.

Effective

Good

Updated 20 December 2016

The service was effective.

People were supported by staff who received training, were knowledgeable about their support needs and sought consent before providing care.

People were supported to access healthcare professionals and their nutritional needs were met.

Caring

Good

Updated 20 December 2016

The service was caring.

People were supported by staff who were kind and caring.

Relatives felt listened to and people received care that respected their dignity and privacy

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 20 December 2016

The service was not consistently responsive.

People did not always receive support to engage in meaningful activities to meet their personal needs.

People and their relatives were supported by staff to give feedback on care and raise any comments or concerns about the service

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 5 July 2017

We found that action had been taken to improve the management of the service.

There were now checks and audits in place to monitor and drive improvement in the quality and safety of the services provided.

A new senior staff structure had been introduced to provide further support to staff and develop lead roles within the home. Staff supervision and meetings were now in place which supported staff to provide more responsive care.

Systems were now in place to ensure notifiable events were sent to CQC.

This meant that the provider was now meeting legal requirements.

While improvements had been made we have not revised the rating for this key question; to improve the rating to �Good� would require a longer term track record of consistent good practice.

We will review our rating for well led at the next comprehensive inspection.