You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 29 December 2018

Heathcote is a converted residential care home without nursing for 29 people, some of whom are living with dementia. At our last inspection we rated the service Good overall and Outstanding in the Caring key question. At this comprehensive inspection, which we carried out on 18 and 24 September 2018 we found the evidence continued to support that rating of and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. Because the rating remains Good, this inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Since our last inspection in 3 September 2015, there has been a change of registered manager, however, the people who lived in the service told us that they continued to feel safe and very well cared for. There were systems in place which provided guidance for care staff on how to safeguard the people who used the service from the potential risk of abuse. Staff understood their roles and responsibilities in keeping people safe. Risk assessments were still in place to identify how the risks to people were minimised. There continued to be sufficient numbers of trained and well supported staff to keep people safe and to meet their needs. Where people required assistance to take their medicines there were arrangements in place to provide this support.

Both the registered manager and the staff understood their obligations under the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) 2005 and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS). People living in the home were still being supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff support them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service support this practice.

People’s needs were assessed and the service continued to support people to eat and drink enough to maintain a balanced diet. They were also supported to maintain good health and to have access to healthcare services.

We saw many examples of outstanding and positive caring interactions between the staff and people living in the service. People were able to express their views and staff listened to what they said and took action to ensure their decisions were acted on. Staff continued to strongly protect people’s privacy and dignity.

People received care that was personalised and responsive to their needs. The service still listened to people’s experiences, concerns and complaints. Staff took steps to investigate complaints and to make any changes needed. People were supported at the end of their lives to have a comfortable, dignified and pain free death.

The registered manager told us that they were well supported by the organisation. The people using the service and the staff they managed told us that the registered manager was open, supportive and had good management skills. There were still good systems in place to monitor the quality of service the organisation offered people to ensure it continued to meet their needs.

Further information is in the detailed findings below

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 29 December 2018

The service remains Good

Effective

Good

Updated 29 December 2018

The service remains Good

Caring

Outstanding

Updated 29 December 2018

The service remains Outstanding

Responsive

Good

Updated 29 December 2018

The service remains Good

Well-led

Good

Updated 29 December 2018

The service remains Good