You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 2 February 2018

This inspection took place on 23 November 2017 and was unannounced. This meant the registered provider did not know we would be visiting.

Peterlee Care Home was last inspected by the Care Quality Commission (CQC) on 20 and 21 July 2016 and was rated Requires Improvement overall and in two areas, Safe and Responsive. We informed the provider they were in breach of regulation 12 regarding the safe management of medicines and the management of risk assessments and regulation 9 regarding not having person centre activities which met people's individual needs.

Whilst completing this visit we reviewed the action the provider had taken to address the above breach of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. We found that the provider had ensured improvements were made in these areas and this had led the home to meeting the above regulations.

Peterlee Care Home is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Peterlee care home provides nursing and personal care for up to 44 people. At the time of our inspection there were 41 people living at the home, some of whom were living with dementia.

There was a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At the last inspection we found that the service didn’t have appropriate arrangements in place for the safe handling of medicines. This was in regard to topical medicines that were found to be not dated on opening and no guidance in place for staff to administer them correctly. As Topical medicines such as creams or ointments have a short shelf life such as 28 days once opened. At this inspection we found that improvements had been made to the storage and management of topical medicines and improved directions and recording were in place.

At the last inspection we found the service didn’t offer a varied range of activities for people that were individualised to their needs, wishes and preferences. At this inspection we saw that this had been improved and a wider range of activities were provided that were more meaningful and we saw people taking part and feedback was positive.

At the last inspection we found risk assessments were not managed appropriately. At this inspection we found that risks to people were assessed and improved. These risk assessments were up to date individualised. These were in place to ensure people could take risks as part of everyday life and minimise any potential harm by mitigating risks.

Accidents and incidents were monitored by the registered manager to highlight any trends and to ensure appropriate referrals to other healthcare professionals were made if needed.

The premises and people’s rooms were clean and tidy and throughout the inspection we saw staff cleaning communal areas. Staff had access to plenty of personal protective equipment.

People who used the service were supported by sufficient numbers of staff to meet their individual needs and wishes.

Staff understood safeguarding issues and procedures were in place to minimise the risk of abuse occurring. Where concerns had been raised we saw they had been referred to the relevant safeguarding department for investigation. Robust recruitment processes were in place.

Staff were supported to maintain and develop their skills through training and development opportunities.

Staff had regular supervisions and appraisals with the registered manager, where they had the opportunity to discuss their care practice and identify further training needs

Peop

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 2 February 2018

The service has improved to Good.

Improvements had been made to ensure people’s medicines were managed safely.

Risks to people were assessed and improved and up to date individualised plans were in place to minimise them.

Safe recruitment systems were in place.

Staff had an understanding of safeguarding issues and the action they would take to ensure people were safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 2 February 2018

The service remains Good.

People were supported to maintain a healthy diet.

People were supported to access other healthcare professionals as required.

Staff training was appropriate and up to date.

Staff were supported by regular supervisions and appraisals.

The service was worked within the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 to protect people’s rights while providing care and support.

Caring

Good

Updated 2 February 2018

The service remains Good.

People and their relatives spoke positively about the care they received at the service.

People were treated with equality, dignity and respect.

People could access advocacy support when required.

People were supported to make choices.

Responsive

Good

Updated 2 February 2018

The service had improved to Good.

personalised and group activities were on offer for people to access.

Peoples care plans were person centred and contained details on preferences and personal history.

People knew how to make a complaint if needed.

People were supported with end of life care.

Well-led

Good

Updated 2 February 2018

This service remains Good.

A registered manager was in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with CQC to manage the service.

There were effective systems in place to monitor and improve the quality of the service provided. Staff were complimentary about the management and the provider.

Staff were supported by the management arrangements and felt able to have open and transparent discussions with them through one-to-one meetings and staff meetings.