You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 6 December 2018

We inspected the service on 13 November 2018. The inspection was unannounced. Waterloo House is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The service accommodates up to 35 older people with physical and or mental health needs and those associated with dementia.

On the day of our inspection 28 people were living at the service.

At our last inspection on 12 January 2016 we rated the service ‘good.’ At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of ‘good’ There was no evidence or information from our inspection and on-going monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

People continued to receive a safe service and were protected from avoidable harm, discrimination and abuse. Risks associated with people’s needs including the environment, had been assessed, and care plans set out how to minimise any risk identified and were monitored for any changes needed.

People continued to receive an effective service. Staff received all the training and support they required to meet people’s individual needs, including their nutritional needs. Staff worked well with external health care professionals and people were supported to access health services when required. People were supported to make their own choices and staff cared for people in the least restrictive way possible. The registered persons had processes in place which helped make sure that when needed, they acted in accordance with the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA). This measure is intended to ensure people are supported to make decisions for themselves. When this is not possible the Act requires that decisions are taken in people’s best interests.

CQC is required by law to monitor the operation of the MCA and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS) and to report on what we find. Through our discussions with the registered manager and staff we were assured they understood the principles of the MCA and demonstrated their awareness of the need to obtain consent before providing day to day support and care to people. DoLS were in place where needed to protect people when they did not have capacity to make decisions and where it was considered necessary to restrict their freedom in some way, usually to protect them from risks. At the time of our inspection, 16 people were subject to an active DoLS authorisation and the registered manager informed us they were awaiting the outcome of one further application which had been submitted to the local authority for approval.

People continued to receive care from staff who were kind, compassionate and treated them with dignity and respected their privacy. Staff had developed positive relationships with the people they supported, they understood people’s needs, preferences, and what was important to them. Staff knew how to comfort people when they were distressed and made sure that emotional support was provided. People’s independence was promoted.

People continued to receive a responsive service. People were involved with assessing and planning for their care needs and regularly reviewing the arrangements in place. They were supported to pursue their individual interests and hobbies, and group social activities were offered. There was a complaints procedure in place and people and their relatives knew how to raise any concerns or formal complaints if they needed to. Staff knew how to escalate any concerns they may have and told us they felt well supported by the registered manager and provider.

The service continued to be well led. People, their relatives and staff were encouraged to give their views on how the service was run. There was an open and transpare

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 6 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 6 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 6 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 6 December 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 6 December 2018

The service remains Good.