You are here

Hinderton Mount Residential Home Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 25 December 2018

We carried out this inspection on 13 December 2018. The inspection was unannounced.

This service was last inspected in April 2016 and was rated Good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Hinderton Mount Residential Home is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

There were 15 people living in the home at the time we carried out our inspection.

There was an experienced registered manager responsible for the day-to-day management of the service. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. The registered manager had been working at the service for over 11 years.

We looked at how the service managed its recruitment of new staff and saw that this was done well and all of the required checks were carried out before staff commenced working at the home. The home had an established staff team. Many staff had worked at the home for a number of years.

We spoke with five people who lived in the home and seven relatives and all gave positive feedback about the home and the staff who worked in it. They told us that the staff supported people well. We saw that warm, positive relationships with people were apparent and one person described the staff as “our extended family”.

The registered manager understood the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) and the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS). This meant they were working within the law to support people who may lack capacity to make their own decisions. We saw that people were supported to make their own decisions and their choices were respected. The home recognised that some people in the home were starting to need more support with decision making and they were ensuring that this was done safely, maximising the person’s abilities to make their own decisions.

Staff spoken with and records seen confirmed training had been provided to enable them to support the people with their specific needs. We found staff were knowledgeable about the support needs of people in their care. We observed staff providing support to people throughout our inspection visit. We saw that staff were very thoughtful in their approach to people.

We found medication procedures at the home were safe. An external audit conducted by the local Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) had commended the home for the good management of medicines.

Care plans were clearly recorded. They detailed how people wished and needed to be cared for. They were regularly reviewed and updated as required. We saw that relatives were involved in supporting staff to understand how people wished to be cared for. Life histories were present in all of the care plans we looked at. We spoke with staff and found them to be knowledgeable about people and their lives prior to living in the home.

The registered manager used a variety of methods to assess and monitor the quality of the service. These included regular audits of the service and staff meetings to seek the views of staff about the service. They also regularly spoke with the people who lived in the home. Feedback about the registered manager was excellent from the people who lived in the home, relatives and all the staff we spoke with.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 25 December 2018

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 25 December 2018

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 25 December 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 25 December 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 25 December 2018

The service remains good.