You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 5 February 2019

The inspection visit took place on 8th January 2019 and was unannounced. A further announced visit took place on 10th January 2019.

Catherine Care Limited is a residential service that is registered to provide support to people who have learning disabilities. The service is registered with the CQC to provide accommodation for up to five adults. At the time of our inspection five people were using the service. People lived in individual rooms with access to the communal kitchen and garden.

There were two registered managers at this location. One registered manager works part time and the other is also a director. The provider informed us that both of the registered managers intended to deregister in due course and an acting manager was currently in place who would register with the CQC once the existing registered managers had trained them. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Both registered managers, the acting manager and an area manager were at the home when we visited.

At our last inspection we rated the service Good. At this inspection, we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

Mental capacity assessments were undertaken but were not always documented and this was not picked up by audits. Training was undertaken in Equality, Diversity and Human Rights but there was no documentation in place to indicate that this was considered in care planning for people.

People were kept safe from the risk of harm. Staff knew how to recognise signs of abuse and were aware of safeguarding procedures. There were a sufficient number of appropriately trained staff to maintain people’s safety. People were not at risk of medicine administration errors as medicines was stored and administered safely.

People’s needs and choices were assessed and reviewed when their needs changed. Staff were appropriately skilled and trained to deliver effective support. They were encouraged to undertake further qualifications and training certificates. People had access to healthcare services and staff knew when to make referrals. The home was adapted to meet people’s needs and their rooms were decorated to their personal preferences. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People were supported by kind and caring staff who displayed empathy and compassion. Staff considered communication needs and supported people to express their views. People were supported to maintain their privacy and dignity and their independence was promoted.

People and their relatives were involved in care planning and their views were respected. People were encouraged to participate in activities of their choice with the support of care workers and through accessing a local Community Hub. Staff and relatives told us they are confident they will be listened to and any complaints and concerns will be addressed.

Staff and relatives told us that they find the management team open and approachable. The managers were aware of their legal responsibilities and submit timely notifications to CQC when required. Audit processes were in place.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 5 February 2019

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 5 February 2019

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 5 February 2019

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 5 February 2019

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 5 February 2019

The service has deteriorated to Requires Improvement.