You are here

Sahara Community Care Services Good

Listen to an audio version of the report from our inspection on 16 April 2019, which was published on 02 May 2019. Listen to the report.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 2 May 2019

About the service:

Sahara Community Care Services is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own houses and flats. It provides a service to younger adults, people living with dementia, children, people with a learning disability, people with mental health needs, physical disabilities and sensory impairments. It provides personal care to people from all cultural and ethnic backgrounds. It also specialises in providing services to black and minority ethnic groups in Peterborough.

Not everyone using Sahara Community Care Services receives regulated activity; CQC only inspects the service being received by people provided with 'personal care'; help with tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do we also take into account any wider social care provided. At the time of our inspection staff were providing personal care to 56 people.

Peoples experience of using this service:

• Risks to people were identified and managed well. Appropriate steps had been taken to safeguard people. Sufficient numbers of staff with the required skills had been recruited safely and deployed to keep people safe. One person said, "[Staff] are very good at making sure I use my walking frame, every time."

• People were supported to take their medicines as prescribed by trained and competent staff. Lessons were learned when things did not go quite so well. Infection control systems promoted good hygiene standards.

• Skilled staff were provided with the necessary support including coaching, shadowing experienced staff and regular supervision, staff maintained their skills.

• People's needs were met. One relative told us that it was purely due to staff that their family member was alive and doing well. People's independence was upheld and promoted with enough to eat and drink. Staff enabled people to access healthcare support by working well with others involved in people’s care.

• People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

• People were cared for by staff with compassion, kindness and dignity. Staff knew people well and they promoted people’s privacy, culture needs and independence.

• People had a say and choice in who and how their care was provided. One person told us, "Staff are very kind and compassionate. I have got to know them as a friend."

• People’s care was person centred and based on what was important to them. People's concerns were dealt with and acted on before they became a complaint and to the person’s satisfaction. Systems were in place to meet people’s end of life care needs and help ensure a dignified and pain free death.

• One compliment from a relative stated, "Thank you for making our [family member's] final days so special. We couldn't have managed without you."

• The registered manager promoted and supported an open and honest staff team culture. Staff upheld the provider's values by helping people live a meaningful life.

• Governance and oversight of the quality of the service was effective and helped drive improvements. People had a say in how the service was run and developed. The service and its management team worked well with other organisations including community nursing teams and GPs, People received care that was coordinated.

• Many people complimented the service for the quality of care provided. One relative told us, "I would not hesitate to recommend the service to anyone, whatever their culture or background."

Rating at last inspection: Good (report published 5 September 2016)

Why we inspected: This was a planned inspection based on the previous rating.

Follow up: We will continue to monitor intelligence we receive about the service until we return to visit as per our re-inspection programme. If any concerning information is received, we may inspect sooner.

For more details, please see the ful

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 2 May 2019

The service was safe.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 2 May 2019

The service was effective.

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 2 May 2019

The service was caring.

Details are in our Caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 2 May 2019

The service was responsive.

Details are in our Responsive findings below.

Well-led

Good

Updated 2 May 2019

The service was not always well-led.

Details are in our Well-Led findings below.