You are here

Sussex Oakleaf Housing Association Limited - 26 Shakespeare Road Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 3 April 2019

About the service.

Sussex Oakleaf Housing Association Limited - 26 Shakespeare Road is registered to provide accommodation and personal care for up to eight people with mental health needs. At the time of the inspection there were seven people living at the home.

Why we inspected: This was a planned inspection based on the rating at the last inspection.

At the last inspection the service was rated as Good. The inspection report was published on 13 August 2016. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

People’s experience of using this service:

• People and their relatives said the staff provided a good standard of care. For example, a relative told us, “The quality of staff is terrific. They look after people really well.” People said they liked the staff and described them as both friendly and respectful. People said they were consulted about their care. Each person had their own bedroom with an en-suite bathroom and three of these also had a kitchen area. People said they liked their living space, which staff helped them to keep clean and tidy.

• The provider had plans to close the service by the end of June 2019 as part of a planned change to its service structure. At the time of the inspection the provider had not yet submitted an application to remove the location from CQC’s registration. Staff were working with social services’ funding authorities, relatives and people themselves to secure new accommodation which met people’s wishes.

• We observed staff were skilled in communicating with people effectively. People were supported by staff who were kind and attentive. Staff demonstrated they promoted values of independence and choice for people.

• People said there was a choice of food at each meal. We observed people helping themselves to breakfast. People helped prepare meals for the residents. People confirmed there were a range of activities, which they could choose to take part in.

• Staff were well trained and supervised. Staff said they felt supported and worked well as a team.

• The home was homely and comfortable. Carpets in communal areas were stained and worn and in need of replacement. Some areas of the home were showing signs of wear and tear. The provider was aware of this but was not implementing any plans to address this due to the imminent closure of the home.

• The service was well managed and there was a culture of valuing and involving people and staff in decision making. A range of audits were used to monitor the quality and safety of the services provided. People said the staff and management were approachable. Residents’ meetings were held on a regular basis where agenda items included discussions about the home and food. Surveys were also used to monitor the views of people and relatives.

Follow up: We will review the service in line with our methodology for ‘Good’ services.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 3 April 2019

The service has remained Good.

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 3 April 2019

The service has remained Good.

Details are in our Effective findings below.

Caring

Good

Updated 3 April 2019

The service has remained Good.

Details are in our Caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 3 April 2019

The service has remained Good.

Details are in our Responsive findings below.

Well-led

Good

Updated 3 April 2019

The service has remained Good.

Details are in our Well-Led findings below.