You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Penrice House. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 6 July 2018

Penrice House is a ‘care home’ that provides accommodation for a maximum of 29 adults, of all ages with a range of health care needs and physical disabilities. At the time of the inspection there were 27 people living at the service. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

Penrice House is near to St Austell which people visit regularly. Penrice House provides accommodation over two floors. Some bedrooms are on the ground floor where communal areas are also present. The remaining bedrooms are on the first floor which is accessed by lifts. Staff continuously monitor people if they remain in their rooms to ensure people’s needs are met at all times. People are able to access the garden area.

There was a registered manager in post who was responsible for the day-to-day running of the service. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. We carried out this unannounced inspection on 2 June 2018. At the last inspection, in November 2015, the service was rated Good. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

On the day of the inspection there was a calm, relaxed and friendly atmosphere in the service. We observed that staff interacted with people in a caring and compassionate manner. We spoke with eight people at the service to gain their views of the service. They all told us they were happy with the care they received and believed it was a safe environment. Comments from people included, “It’s the lovely friendly atmosphere that makes me feel safe" and “It doesn't matter what you ask them (staff ) to do, they just do it."

Staff ensured people kept in touch with family and friends. Relatives were positive about the care their family member received. Comments included, "They always make sure my relative has her lipstick on, her earrings and necklace on as they know this is important for her to look nice" and "My relative has only been here a few weeks but the staff have made sure she has settled in well." Relatives told us they were always made welcome and were able to visit at any time.

People were protected from abuse and harm because staff understood their safeguarding responsibilities and were able to assess and mitigate any individual risk to a person’s safety. People said they felt safe at Penrice House, and relatives echoed this view.

The service was warm, comfortable and appeared clean with no unpleasant odours. The service was well maintained. People were pleased with their private bedrooms and had decorated them to reflect their preferences and tastes. People were treated with kindness, compassion and respect.

The service had suitable arrangements for the storage and disposal of medicines. Medicines were administered by staff who had been trained and assessed as competent to manage medicines.

People received care and support that was responsive to their needs because staff were aware of the needs of people who lived at Penrice House. Staff were prompt at recognising if a person’s health needs had changed and sought appropriate medical advice promptly. One person told us “You can talk with anybody if you have a problem and they sort it out." Relatives told us the service always kept them informed of any changes to people’s health and when healthcare appointments had been made.

Care plans were well organised and contained personalised information about the individual person’s needs and wishes. Care planning was reviewed regularly and whenever people’s needs changed. People’s care plans gave direction and guidance for staff to follow to help ensure people received their care and support in the way they wanted. Risks in relation to people’s care and support were assessed and planned for to minimise the risk of harm.

People told us they were able t

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 6 July 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 6 July 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 6 July 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 6 July 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 6 July 2018

The service remains Good.