You are here

FitzRoy Supported Living - Trafford Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 5 February 2019

We inspected FitzRoy Supported Living –Trafford on 8, 9 and 15 January 2019. The first day of the inspection was announced. The provider was given 24 hours' notice of the inspection because the location provides a community-based service and we needed to be sure someone would be available.

This service provided care and support to people living in 'supported living' settings. In supported living, people live in their own home as independently as possible. People's care and housing are provided under separate contractual agreements. CQC does not regulate premises used for supported living; we looked at people's personal care and support. At the time of this inspection the service was providing support to 19 people in four 'supported living' settings for adults over 18 years, people living with learning disabilities, physical disabilities and/or autistic spectrum disorder and people with sensory impairments.

At the last inspection in November 2017, there were three breaches of legal requirements in relation to the Mental Capacity Act 2005 in respect of assessing people's capacity, auditing systems had identified issues with the quality of the service, but these were not always being addressed in an effective way and we found the registered provider had not ensured that there was always enough staff to meet people's needs. At this inspection we found the requirements had been fully met.

The care service has been developed and designed in line with the values that underpin the Registering the Right Support and other best practice guidance. These values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. People with learning disabilities and autism using the service can live as ordinary a life as any citizen.

The service had a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run. The registered manager was also supported by a service development and implementation manager and two deputy managers.

Since our last inspection we found noticeable improvements in developing new systems for audit and quality assurance. A new suite of audit tools had been introduced covering key aspects of service delivery.

Prior to our inspection we were notified in June 2018 by the provider they had made a safeguarding referral and contacted the Police due to finding a significant amount of money missing from people’s bank accounts at one of the supported living services. As a result of an internal investigation the provider found significant failures in respect of the registered and deputy managers finance checks of people’s monies. At the time of this inspection the Police were still conducting their inquiries in respect of the allegations of theft against a staff member and the provider made a timely referral to the Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS). The provider also reimbursed all monies that were stolen from people and the auditing of people’s finances was fully reviewed by the provider, which resulted in thorough checks being completed on all financial transactions at the service and the other three supported living services.

At the last inspection we found the provider did not have a clear overview of the staffing hours being provided at Highfield Avenue. At this inspection we found the staffing levels were being appropriately deployed across all of the four supported living services. There were enough staff to support people and the provider carried out checks to make sure new staff were suitable to work in the service.

At the last inspection we found staff had limited understanding of the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) and required mental capacity assessment were not always undertaken. At this inspection the provider underst

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 5 February 2019

The service was safe.

People who used the service told us they considered it to be a safe place to live.

The provider's calculation for staffing levels had improved and we found a number of new staff had been employed.

Medicines were managed, administered and documented safely. Room temperature recording systems had now been established.

Effective

Good

Updated 5 February 2019

The service was effective.

Significant improvements had been made which sought to ensure the service was working within the principles of the MCA.

Training was available in a variety of topics to meet people's needs. Staff were supported through supervision, appraisal and team meetings.

People enjoyed the food provided and their diet was appropriately monitored.

Caring

Good

Updated 5 February 2019

The service remained caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 5 February 2019

The service was responsive.

Care records reflected people's needs and how they would like them to be met.

The registered manager had a better oversight in respect of monitoring complaints to identify trends and patterns.

Activities remained limited at the service due to budget constraints. But the service attempted to support people with activities when possible.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 5 February 2019

The service was not always well-led.

Improvements had been made to systems for audit, quality assurance and questioning of practice. However, we found the management team had failed to ensure people were protected from financial abuse. Robust financial audits were now in place.

People spoke positively about the management team and staff worked well as a team.

There was now effective systems for seeking feedback on the quality of the service from people and their relatives. The latest questionnaires were being analysed at the time of our inspection.