You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 18 July 2018

The inspection took place on 2 July 2018 and was announced. We gave the provider one working day’s notice of the inspection because it is a small service and we needed to be sure someone could assist with the inspection.

At our last inspection on 8 June 2016, we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Micado Homes Drayton Lodge is run by a small private organisation. The provider owns and manages one other service which does not fall under the scope of registration. Micado Homes Drayton Lodge is a residential care home for 6 people with mental health needs and/or people who have experienced substance misuse. It is a residential house in the community and has two floors and a garden for people to use. There were six people living in the service at the time of the inspection. Two people were on social leave. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

People felt supported and satisfied that their needs were being met. Staff were caring and treated people with dignity and respect. People were supported to raise concerns and make suggestions about where improvements could be made.

People lived in a safe environment which was appropriately maintained. There were procedures in place to safeguard them from the risk of abuse. People received their medicines in a safe way and as prescribed.

There were systems and processes in place to protect people from the risk of harm. There were enough staff on duty to meet people's needs and checks were carried out during the recruitment process to ensure only suitable staff were employed. People were supported by staff who were suitably trained, supervised and appraised.

People had been involved with planning their own care and their views were regularly sought. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. The policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

The provider assessed people's care needs and delivered effective care and support to achieve positive outcomes for people. People's nutritional and healthcare needs had been assessed and were met.

The staff worked with other community health and social care professionals to make sure people's physical and mental healthcare needs were being met.

The home was clean and the provider had effective systems to protect people by the prevention and control of infection.

The provider had effective systems in place to monitor the quality of the service and ensure that areas for improvement were identified and addressed.

The registered manager kept themselves informed of developments within the social care sector and ensured important information was shared with the staff team.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 18 July 2018

The service remains Good

Effective

Good

Updated 18 July 2018

The service remains Good

Caring

Good

Updated 18 July 2018

The service remains Good

Responsive

Good

Updated 18 July 2018

The service remains Good

Well-led

Good

Updated 18 July 2018

The service remains Good