You are here

SENSE - 21a and 21b Johnson Avenue Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 4 January 2019

We inspected this service on 20 October 2018. The inspection was un-announced.

SENSE - 21a and 21b Johnson Avenue provides accommodation and personal care for up to six people with learning disabilities, autism, and sensory impairments. On the day of our inspection six people were using the service.

SENSE - 21a and 21b Johnson Avenue is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

The care service has been developed and designed in line with the values that underpin the 'Registering the Right Support' and other best practice guidance. These values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. People with learning disabilities and autism using the service can live as ordinary a life as any citizen.

At the last inspection in March 2016 this service was rated good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the overall rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns.

This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

There was not a registered manager was in post. There was a manager in post who was going through the process of registering with the CQC. This manager was not available on the day of inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People were safe. Risk assessments were in place to cover any risks present. We saw that staff had been appropriately recruited in to the service and security checks had taken place. There were enough staff to provide care and support to people to meet their needs. People received their prescribed medicines safely.

The care that people received continued to be effective. Staff had access to the support, supervision, training and ongoing professional development that they required to work effectively in their roles. People were supported to maintain good health and nutrition.

People’s relationships with staff were positive and caring. We saw that staff treated people with respect, kindness and courtesy. People had detailed personalised plans of care in place to enable staff to provide consistent care and support in line with people’s personal preferences.

The provider had implemented effective systems to manage any complaints that they may receive.

The service had a positive ethos and an open and honest culture. People and their family members were able to feedback about the service and any concerns identified were acted upon.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 4 January 2019

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 4 January 2019

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 4 January 2019

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 4 January 2019

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 4 January 2019

The service remains good.