You are here

RNID Action on Hearing Loss Ransdale House Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 4 July 2018

RNID Action on Hearing Loss Ransdale House is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The service provides personal care to a maximum of six adults who have profound deafness or significant hearing loss and who have other disabilities or additional support needs. At the time of the inspection there were six people who used the service.

The care service has been developed and designed in line with the values that underpin the Registering the Right Support and other best practice guidance. These values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. People with learning disabilities and autism using the service can live as ordinary a life as any citizen. Registering the Right Support CQC policy.

At our last inspection in October 2015 we rated the service as Good. However, we found for people who did not always have capacity, staff had not completed mental capacity or best interest assessments. The provider wrote to us telling us the action they were to take to address this. At this inspection on 19 March and 3 April 2018 we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and on-going monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection. However, we did rate the caring domain as outstanding and this section is lengthier to reflect our findings.

The service had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons.’ Registered persons have a legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

The service provided outstanding care to people. Staff were exceptionally caring and inspired people to do well in achieving their goals. People were cared for by staff who knew them well and understood how to support them and maximise their potential. The service's visions and values promoted people's rights to make choices and live a dignified and fulfilled life, this was reflected in the care and support that people received. We saw that staff treated people with dignity and respect.

Staff understood people's different ways of communicating and how to make people feel valued. The home had a strong, person centred culture and staff went that extra mile for the people and families they supported. We received feedback from people, a relative and professionals which was exceptionally positive about the progress and quality of life that people experienced.

Staff understood the procedure they needed to follow if they suspected abuse might be taking place. Risks to people were identified and plans were put in place to help manage the risk and minimise them occurring. Medicines were managed safely with an effective system in place.

People and relatives told us there were sufficient numbers of staff on duty to ensure people’s needs were met. Pre-employment checks were made to reduce the likelihood of employing staff who were unsuitable to work with people.

The registered manager had systems in place for reporting, recording, and monitoring significant events, incidents and accidents. The registered manager told us that lessons were learnt when they reviewed all accidents and incidents to determine any themes or trends.

On the first day of our inspection we found the service needed redecoration and improvement. The provider did not own the building, they had a rental agreement with a landlord. The landlord was responsible for most of the refurbishment and redecoration. Where repairs had been ma

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 4 July 2018

The Service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 4 July 2018

The Service remains Good.

Caring

Outstanding

Updated 4 July 2018

The service has improved to outstanding.

This service was exceptionally caring.

People were extremely well cared for. People were consistently complimentary of staff and the support they provided. People were treated with respect and their independence, privacy and dignity were promoted.

Staff interacted with the people in a way which was particularly knowledgeable, kind, compassionate and caring.

Staff took time to speak with people and to engage positively with them.

Responsive

Good

Updated 4 July 2018

The Service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 4 July 2018

The Service remains Good.