You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 June 2018

We carried out this unannounced inspection on 7 and 8 May 2018. The service was last inspected in February 2016 and was found to be meeting the regulations. The service was rated as Good at that time. The service continues to be rated as Good.

The DOVE project is a domiciliary care agency that provides personal care and support to people with a learning disability or a mental health condition in their own homes. At the time of our inspection the service was providing a 24 hour supported living service and personal care to three people. A supported living service is one where people live in their own home and receive care and support to enable them to live independently without total reliance on parents or guardians. People have tenancy agreements with a landlord and receive their care and support from a domiciliary care agency. As the housing and care arrangements are separate, people can choose to change their care provider and remain living in the same house.

The service is required to have a registered manager and at the time of our inspection a registered manager was not in post. However, the manager who was in overall charge of the day-to-day running of the service had started the process to make an application to the Care Quality Commission (CQC) to become the registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

There was a positive culture in the service, the management team provided strong leadership and led by example. Management were visible and known to staff and all the people using the service. Staff were consistently positive about the local management of the service. Comments included, “There is a lovely person centred management approach to working with staff and clients. I don't feel afraid to take any issues or problems to them. There are no reprisals. This company at local level are amazing at valuing their staff.”

Staff told us they were well supported and confident in their abilities to fulfil their roles and responsibilities. Staff roles and responsibilities were clearly defined and understood by all. Staff commented, “ In the short time I’ve been working with Dove I have received all necessary training and been correctly inducted and shown the ropes with every client I support. One of the best companies I have worked for.”

People using the service had limited verbal communication and were not able to tell us their views about the care and support they received. However, we observed people were relaxed and comfortable with staff, and they received care and support in a way that kept them safe. People had a good relationship with staff and were comfortable with the staff that supported them.

People’s behaviour and body language showed that they felt really cared for and that they mattered. A health care professional commented, “Each of Doves clients appear to be happy and safe both at home and out and about with their staff members. This is evidenced by their now calm demeanours and change in behaviour from the aggression and frustration that they had displayed in the past.” A relative told us, “I’m very happy with the way things are being handled. I have not had a reason to have concerns with the service.”

Staff had received training in how to recognise and report abuse. All were clear about how to report any concerns and were confident that any allegations made would be fully investigated to help ensure people were protected. People were supported by dedicated staff teams who were employed to work with specific people using the service.

People received care from staff that knew them well, and had the knowledge and skills to meet their needs. Staff spoke about the people they supported fondly

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 22 June 2018

The service remained good.

Effective

Good

Updated 22 June 2018

The service remained effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 22 June 2018

Te service remained caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 22 June 2018

The service remained responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 22 June 2018

The service remained well led.