You are here

The Moorings Supported Living Service Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 16 November 2018

The Moorings Supported Living Service was inspected on the 09 October 2018 and the inspection was announced.

This service provides care and support to people living in a ‘supported living’ setting, so that they can live as independently as possible. People’s care and housing are provided under separate contractual agreements. CQC does not regulate premises used for supported living; this inspection looked at people’s personal care and support. People using the service lived in their own individual apartments which were in one housing development near the village of Garstang. Car parking is available at the development and there is access for people who have mobility challenges.

The care service has been developed and designed in line with the values that underpin the Registering the Right Support and other best practice guidance. These values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. People with learning disabilities and autism using the service can live as ordinary a life as any citizen.

At our last inspection in August and September 2017 the service was rated as ‘Requires improvement’. We identified a breach of Regulation 12 of the Health and Social Act Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) 2014. We found systems were not operated effectively to ensure medicines were managed safely. We also found staff did not receive annual reviews of their performance. This was a breach of Regulation 18 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. In addition, the Care Quality Commission is required to be notified of certain occurrences. We found a notification had not been provided to us in a timely manner. This was a breach of Regulation 18 of the Care Quality Commission (Registration) Regulations 2009. We took regulatory action and served requirement notices for these breaches in regulation. We asked the registered provider to take action to make improvements to the areas we identified. The registered provider sent us an action plan which indicated improvements would be completed by December 2017.

At this inspection in October 2018, we found improvements had been made. Medicines were managed safely and staff received annual appraisals. We found notifications were provided to the Care Quality Commission (CQC) in a timely manner.

At the time of the inspection visit there was a manager in place who was registered with the Care Quality Commission. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Recruitment checks were carried out to ensure suitable people were employed to work at the service and training was provided to enable staff to maintain and increase their skills and knowledge.

Care records contained information regarding risks and guidance for staff on how risks were to be managed. We found information in two care records required updating as further information was required regarding the needs of the people they related to. The registered manager could demonstrate the records were in the process of being updated.

The registered manager told us they did not currently provide end of life care at the service. They explained that should this be required a policy was available to guide staff.

People told us they were supported to access medical advice from external healthcare professionals and their healthcare needs were met. Documentation we viewed confirmed this. People and relatives told us they were happy with the care at support provided by The Moorings Supported Living Service.

People told us they could raise their views with staff and these were listened to. The registered manager told us they sought verbal feedback from people who used the service and meetings were held with them

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 16 November 2018

The service was Safe.

Medicines were managed safely.

People told us they felt safe and we saw assessments were carried out to identify and control risk. Staff knew the action to take if they suspected people were at risk of harm or abuse.

Recruitment checks were carried out prior to staff starting work at the service and people told us they were happy with the availability of staff.

Effective

Good

Updated 16 November 2018

People's nutritional needs were monitored and referrals were made to other health professionals if the need was identified.

Staff told us and we saw documentation which demonstrated staff received training to enable them to meet people's needs.

If restrictions were required to maintain people's safety, applications to the supervisory bodies were made as required.

Caring

Good

Updated 16 November 2018

The service was Caring.

People and relatives told us staff were caring and we saw people were treated in a caring and respectful way.

People and relatives told us they were involved in care planning.

Staff told us they had received training in equality and diversity and they respected people's right to live an individual life.

Responsive

Good

Updated 16 November 2018

The service was Responsive.

People told us they were supported to follow their individual hobbies and interests.

People received individualised care to enable them to be as independent as possible.

There was a complaints procedure in place. People and relatives, we spoke with told us they had no complaints.

Well-led

Good

Updated 16 November 2018

The service was Well-led.

A series of checks were carried out to identify where improvements were required.

Staff told us they were supported by the registered manager, and they understood their roles and responsibilities.

People and relatives told us they could approach the registered manager if they wished to do so.