You are here

Godfrey Robinson - Care Home Physical Disabilities Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 14 November 2018

This inspection took place on 2 October 2018 and was unannounced.

Godfrey Robinson - Care Home Physical Disabilities is care home in a residential area of North Ferriby. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. The Care Quality Commission (CQC) regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The home is registered to provide accommodation and care to 19 people with physical disabilities. The home provides support to younger adults aged between 18 and 65 years and older people.

At our last inspection in October 2015, we rated the service overall good. At this inspection, we found the evidence continued to support the overall rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and on-going monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Medicines were managed safely and staff had a good knowledge of the medicine systems and procedures in place to support this. We found staff had been recruited safely and training was provided to meet the needs of people. Staff received supervision and annual appraisals.

Staff received training on safeguarding adults from abuse and understood their responsibilities in respect of protecting people from the risk of harm. Accidents and incidents were responded to appropriately and monitored by the management team. The service was clean and infection control measures were in place.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People’s nutrition and hydration needs were catered for. We made a recommendation about the meal time experience.

There was a positive caring culture within the service and we observed people were treated with dignity and respect. People’s wider support needs were not always met through the provision of activities.

There was a complaints policy and procedure made available to people who received a service and their relatives. Feedback was sought from people and their relatives and this was positive.

There was a range of quality audits in place completed by the management team. These were up-to-date and completed on a regular basis. Staff told us they felt recent concerns regarding staff team morale were improving. The registered manager was supported by the wider organisation to address staffing issues and ensure there was no impact on people receiving a service.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 14 November 2018

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 14 November 2018

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 14 November 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 14 November 2018

The service has deteriorated to good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 14 November 2018

The service remains good.