You are here

Archived: Bevan House

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 14 October 2011
Date of Publication: 14 November 2011
Inspection Report published 14 November 2011 PDF | 87.24 KB

Staff should be properly trained and supervised, and have the chance to develop and improve their skills (outcome 14)

Not met this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Are safe and their health and welfare needs are met by competent staff.

How this check was done

We reviewed all the information we hold about this provider, carried out a visit on 14/10/2011, looked at records of people who use services, talked to staff and talked to people who use services.

Our judgement

We found that staff had received training in many important areas however the lack of training on fire safety was leaving people who use the service at risk in the event of a fire.

The level of training for staff giving medicines should be reviewed by the registered provider, taking into account information from Skills for Care, so that people are not put at risk in the future from inadequately trained staff.

Staff was attending regular team meetings however they were not receiving formal supervisions at the frequency planned by the acting manager or as stated by them at the last review of compliance.

User experience

On this occasion we did not speak to people about this outcome area.

Other evidence

At our last review of compliance we found that people who used the service were being placed at risk of harm and abuse because the staff team were not receiving basic important training and supervision that would enable to carry out their duties as support workers. The registered provider had not taken the appropriate steps required to ensure that people were being supported at all times by a sufficiently qualified and skilled staff.

The improvement plan stated that supervisions and meetings would be facilitated by the home manager with immediate effect. Training would commence with Adult social services from 4th July 2011. If training places were unavailable through Adult Social Services training would be booked through BVS or Edify training in July 2011. Monthly staff meetings would be ongoing

Since the review of compliance staff had attended training on infection control, food hygiene, first aid, record keeping and reporting incidents, safeguarding adults from abuse, diabetes awareness, moving and handling the Mental Capacity Act and the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards. However the majority of staff had not received training on fire safety and health and safety.

A new member of staff had been employed since our last visit, this person had responsibility for giving medicines to people. We saw from training records that this member of staff had received very limited training in medicines handling since joining the service and had provided no evidence of medicines training from their previous employment. The acting manager had assessed this member of staff as being competent to give medicines and was confident in this person’s ability to give medicines safely. As records showed that no further medicines errors had been made since our visit in August 2011, there was no evidence that staff were not competent to give medicines however we suggested that the level of training for staff giving medicines should be reviewed by the provider, taking into account information from Skills for Care, so that people are not put at risk in the future from inadequately trained staff.

At our last review of compliance the manager told us they planned to ensure each member of staff received a one to one supervision session at least once every six weeks. We found that the current staff had received one formal supervision session with the acting manager in August 2011.

We found that regular staff meetings were being held.