You are here

Elizabeth House Good Also known as Integrate (Preston & Chorley) Limited

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 18 May 2018

The inspection of the service took place across two dates 15 and 16 February 2018. A follow up desktop review of evidence was completed 20 March 2018. This was completed following a meeting with the registered manager of the service. The delay was due to the registered manager and the inspectors conflicting schedules.

The service was given 24 hours' notice prior to the inspection due to the complexity of the service.

The agency, Integrate Preston, is managed from well-equipped offices located in Ashton, in central Preston. Services are provided to support people to live independently in the community. During this inspection there were 136 people who used the service.

This service is a domiciliary care agency. It provides personal care to people living in their own houses and flats in the community and specialist housing.

Not everyone using Elizabeth House receives a regulated activity. CQC only inspects the service being received by people provided with 'personal care'; help with tasks related to personal hygiene and eating. Where they do we also take into account any wider social care provided.

There is a registered manager at the service. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At the last inspection of the service we found breaches of the regulations these were in relation to Regulation 11 HSCA RA Regulations 2014 (Need for consent), Regulation 12 HSCA RA Regulations 2014 (Safe care and treatment), Regulation 13 HSCA RA Regulations 2014 (Safeguarding service users from abuse and improper treatment), Regulation 17 HSCA RA Regulations 2014 (Good Governance), and Regulation 18 HSCA RA Regulations 2014 (Staffing).

Following the last inspection, we asked the provider to complete an action plan to show what they would do and by when to improve the key questions safe, effective, responsive and well led to at least good. During this inspection we checked to see if there had been improvements at the service. We found all the breaches of regulation had been improved and we found no breaches of the regulations at this inspection.

We found people were protected from the risk of abuse because staff understood how to identify and report it. We found people were protected from risks associated with their care because the registered provider had completed risk assessments. These provided updated guidance for staff in order to keep people safe. We found recruitment to be safe. We reviewed staffing at the service and did not find any concerns.

We looked at how the service was managing medicines at this inspection. Monthly audits were being completed and management had oversight of these. We found that protocols for ‘as and when’ medicines were in place, as per the medicines policy.

At this inspection, we found mental capacity had been considered and written consent to various aspects of care and treatment was observed on people's files. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff support them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service support this practice.

We were able to see staff supervision was taking place. Staff we spoke with confirmed they felt supported in their role. Staff training was ongoing and evidence has been seen of staff completing training.

We found holistic assessments were carried out by the service before any person was accepted, to ensure people’s needs could be met. Peoples needs for nutrition and fluids had been considered. People were supported by staff to live healthier lives. Staff supported people to healthcare appointments and arranged these if necessary.

We received consistently positive feedback about the staff and about the car

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 18 May 2018

The service was safe.

People told us they felt safe using the service.

The service had systems to manage risks and plans were implemented to ensure peoples safety.

Staff knew how to recognise and report the signs of abuse. They knew the correct procedures to follow if they thought someone was at risk of harm.

People were supported with their medicines in a safe way by staff that had been appropriately trained.

We reviewed staffing at the service and did not find any concerns.

Effective

Good

Updated 18 May 2018

The service was effective.

People�s rights were protected, in accordance with the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Staff were skilled and received comprehensive training to ensure they could meet people�s needs.

There was evidence of staff supervisions.

Access to healthcare professionals was available when required.

Caring

Good

Updated 18 May 2018

The service was caring.

From our observations during the inspection we saw staff had positive relationships with people who lived at the service. Staff interacted with people in a kind and caring way.

We received consistent positive comments about the staff and about the care people received.

Staff respected people�s privacy and dignity in a caring and compassionate way.

Responsive

Good

Updated 18 May 2018

The service was responsive.

There was a complaints policy, which enabled people to raise issues of concern.

Assessments were completed before people were offered a service to ensure their needs could be met.

Care plans were completed and reviewed in accordance with the persons changing needs.

Well-led

Good

Updated 18 May 2018

The service was well led.

Staff worked in partnership with other professionals to make sure people received appropriate support to meet their needs.

A range of quality audits and risk assessments had been completed by the management.

Staff enjoyed their work and told us the management were always available for guidance and support.