You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at Ivanhoe Residential. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 6 September 2018

This unannounced inspection was carried out on 28 June and 3 July 2018.

Ivanhoe Residential provides residential care for up to 26 older people, some of whom may be living with dementia. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. The Care Quality Commission (CQC) regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. At the time of this inspection 20 people were living at the service.

The management of the home had changed since our last inspection. The new manager had registered with the CQC in June 2018. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the CQC to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At our last inspection in February 2016, we rated the service as good overall. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and on-going monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

People received their medicines safely and on time from staff who were trained to manage medicines safely. Risks associated with people's care and support were assessed, reviewed and managed well. People were protected from the risk of infection, and staff understood the importance of infection prevention and control.

People told us they felt safe. Support staff were able to confidently explain the process for reporting any suspected abuse. Staff and people told us they felt happy to raise any concerns they had.

There were enough suitably recruited and trained staff on duty to provide people with safe care and support when they needed it. Staff felt supported in their role and received regular supervisions.

We found people were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People's needs were assessed and staff and other healthcare professionals worked together to ensure good outcomes for people. People were supported to eat and drink sufficient amounts to maintain good health.

The culture of the service was person centred. People were supported by staff to express their views where they were able to, and have choice over their day to day care. People were seen to be treated with respect, kindness and compassion. People’s diversity and dignity was respected and promoted at the service.

We saw staff cared about the people they supported, were knowledgeable about people and had formed positive relationships with them. People's care plans were detailed and contained information individual to the person.

Confidential information was stored in line with the Data Protection Act, and information was provided to people in a format that met their needs.

Systems and processes were in place to support people should they need to raise a complaint. People living at the service felt confident the registered manager would address any concerns appropriately.

Staff spoke highly of the registered manager and the culture they promoted. Staff told us they felt happy speaking to the registered manager if they had any concerns and felt they would be listened to.

Quality assurance systems were in place to assess and monitor the quality of service people received and identified any areas that required improvement.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 6 September 2018

The service was safe.

Infection control procedures were in place.

Risk assessments were completed with associated actions to ensure people were always protected from avoidable harm.

People received their medicines safely.

Safeguarding processes were in place and people told us they felt safe living at the home. Staff were safely recruited and sufficient staff were deployed to meet people's needs.

Effective

Good

Updated 6 September 2018

The service remained good.

Caring

Good

Updated 6 September 2018

The service remained good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 6 September 2018

The service remained good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 6 September 2018

The service remained good.