You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 11 August 2018

The inspection took place on 27 June 2018 and was unannounced. This meant the service did not know we would be visiting. We carried a further announced visit to the service on 04 July 2018 to complete the inspection.

Chataway Nursing Home is registered to provide care and accommodation for up to 26 people with enduring mental health problems. The building is a large detached property situated in the Crumpsall area of north Manchester. The home provides both shared (twin) and single room accommodation arranged over two floors, accessible by both stairs and a passenger lift. All bedrooms have a wash hand basin and there is a shower room and three bathrooms for people to use.

This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. However, we have made one new recommendation regarding equality, diversity and human rights.

There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Staff demonstrated they adapted the support provided in response to people’s changing needs to mitigate risks. People had comprehensive and individualised risk assessments in place which had been updated timely. We saw control measures had been implemented and reviewed regularly to ensure risks were managed and restrictions imposed were removed promptly and appropriately when the risk had reduced.

People’s health needs were assessed and people were supported to access the required support to ensure their physical health needs were addressed.

Staff developed meaningful relationships with people and treated people with dignity and respect. Staff demonstrated they understood people’s individual needs and tailored the support provided to attain the best outcomes for people.

The service was responsive to people’s individual circumstances and supported people to increase their independence and to exercise choice and control over their lives.

People who used the service were diverse and multi-cultural. The service also benefited from an equally diverse workforce that was reflective of the local community.

The service strived to ensure people were not socially isolated and maintained links within the local community.

The service was well-led and the registered manager and support manager were held in high esteem by people using the service and staff.

The provider was visible within the service and played an active role. This included a good level of oversight through audit, quality assurance and questioning of practice.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 11 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 11 August 2018

The service has improved to Good in this key question.

Caring

Good

Updated 11 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 11 August 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 11 August 2018

The service remains Good.