You are here

Guy Barrington Staight - Pelham Street

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 18 March 2019

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection on 12 February 2019 to ask the service the following key questions; Are services safe, effective, caring, responsive and well-led?

Our findings were:

Are services safe?

We found that this service was providing safe services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services effective?

We found that this service was providing effective services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services caring?

We found that this service was providing caring services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services responsive?

We found that this service was providing responsive services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

Are services well-led?

We found that this service was providing well-led services in accordance with the relevant regulations.

We carried out this inspection under Section 60 of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 as part of our regulatory functions. This inspection was planned to check whether the service was meeting the legal requirements and regulations associated with the Health and Social Care Act 2008.

CQC inspected the service on 14 November and 6 December 2017 and asked the provider to make improvements to address breaches of regulations 12 (Safe care and treatment), 17 (Good governance) and 18 (Staffing). We checked these areas as part of this comprehensive inspection and found this had been resolved.

Guy Barrington Staight - Pelham Street (also known as The Staight Practice) is a private doctors service.

This service is registered with CQC under the Health and Social Care Act 2008 in respect of some, but not all, of the services it provides. There are some general exemptions from regulation by CQC which relate to particular types of service and these are set out in Schedule 2 of The Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. At The Staight Practice services are provided to patients under arrangements made by their employer with whom the service user holds a policy (other than a standard health insurance policy). These types of arrangements are exempt by law from CQC regulation. Therefore, at The Staight Practice, we were only able to inspect the services which are not arranged for patients by their employers with whom the patient holds a policy (other than a standard health insurance policy. The lead doctor is the registered manager. A registered manager is a person who is registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

Forty-nine people provided feedback about the service by completing comments cards. The feedback was entirely positive about the practice, its staff and the care and treatment received

Our key findings were:

  • The practice routinely reviewed the effectiveness and appropriateness of the care it provided.
  • Staff involved and treated patients with compassion, kindness, dignity and respect.
  • Patients’ feedback indicated they were satisfied with care and treatment, facilities and staff at the practice.
  • The practice ensured that care and treatment information was appropriately shared when people moved between services. When patient consent, their NHS GP if they had one was kept informed of the care and treatment they received.
  • There was a strong focus on continuous learning and improvement among the clinical staff, and learning and development had improved among non-clinical staff since our last inspection.

There were areas where the provider could make improvements and should:

Review their arrangements to ensure staff continue to receive the training and professional development that are necessary for them to carry out their role and responsibilities.

Professor Steve Field CBE FRCP FFPH FRCGP

Chief Inspector of General Practice

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 18 March 2019

Effective

Updated 18 March 2019

Caring

Updated 18 March 2019

Responsive

Updated 18 March 2019

Well-led

Updated 18 March 2019