You are here

Abbeydale Residential Care Home - Bury Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 9 March 2018

This was an unannounced inspection which took place on 15, 16 and 23 January 2018. We had previously carried out an inspection in January 2015 when we found the service had complied with all the regulations at the time except staff had not received the training they needed to help ensure people’s right were protected. The service was rated overall as Good. At this inspection we found the service remained overall Good.

Abbeydale Residential Care Home is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

Abbeydale Residential Care Home is a large extended detached property, which provides accommodation for up to 32 older people who require support with personal care. There were 31 people living at the home during our inspection.

The service had a manager who was registered with us. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At this inspection we found the breach in regulation had been met. Staff had received training in the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS). The service had good contact arrangements with the local deprivation of liberty team for advice. Two best interest meetings were held during our inspection. This helps to ensure staff supported people in the least restrictive way possible and their rights were protected.

The home was clean and comfortably furnished. Although we could see that ongoing improvements had been made to the decoration of the home since our last inspection progress was slow and the home looked tired in parts. The registered provider agreed during our inspection to arrange for a team of decorators to go into the home to complete all outstanding work.

We saw that improvements were in the process of being made to care plans and risk assessments to give more detail of potential risk of harm, people’s personal preferences and guidance to staff on how to support people. Other recent improvements had been made with a new fire alarm and call system, a stair lift and a new passenger lift had been installed at the home.

Staff knew how to protect people from abuse and were confident that the managers at the home would take action should they raise any concerns.

Staff had been safely recruited. There were sufficient numbers of staff to meet people’s needs. People were supported by staff who were trained and supported by managers in their job roles.

Medicines were provided safely and when required. People were supported with their health needs. The home was clean and staff had access to the equipment they needed to help prevent and control infection.

People told us they enjoyed the food and their weight and any risk of malnutrition was monitored.

People spoke positively about the staff and throughout our inspection, we observed staff interactions that were relaxed and friendly.

Activities were available for people to participate in if they wanted to and visitors told us they were made to feel welcome.

There was a procedure to help people to complain if they wanted to. We saw that were a complaint had been made action had been taken to make changes in service delivery and the management of any future complaints.

Feedback about the service was obtained annually from people who used the service, their families and staff.

The home had a registered manager as is required. Since our last inspection a deputy manager had been appointed as part of arrangements to strengthen the management of the home.

Improvements had been made to the external oversight at the home. The registered provider had re

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 9 March 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 9 March 2018

The service was Requires Improvement at the last inspection and is now Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 9 March 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 9 March 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 9 March 2018

The service remains Good.