You are here

Accuvision Eye Care Clinic - Solihull

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Updated 9 March 2018

Accuvision Ltd was established in London, UK in December 2001. The provider opened the Solihull clinic in May 2005.

Accuvision Laser Eye Clinic in Solihull is one of three clinics nationwide run by an independent healthcare provider. It primarily offers corneal laser vision correction surgery and treatments for short-sightedness (myopia), long-sightedness (hyperopia), astigmatism (a refractive error), keratoconus treatment (a progressive eye disease), age related long-sightedness (presbyopia) and access to non-laser cataract surgery through another provider.

We inspected Accuvision Solihull as part of our comprehensive programme, using our comprehensive inspection methodology. We carried out the announced part of the inspection on 31 October 2017 along with an unannounced visit to the clinic on 19 November 2017.

The Solihull clinic operates on an appointment basis depending on patients’ needs.

The provider mainly manages administrative work at the London clinic and the whole team of 20 staff work between all three of the clinic locations as needed.

On entry to the clinic ground floor there is a waiting room with refreshments available to patients, the clinic office, toilets, a consulting room and a diagnostic room, a preparation room and a laser treatment room.

The first floor consists of a combined waiting and recovery area, three consulting rooms, a cleaner’s room, store room and three toilets.

The second floor is restricted to staff access only and is primarily an administration and storage area with one staff toilet.

The clinic has parking available for patients and the ground floor is accessible to wheelchair users.

We inspected laser eye surgery.

To get to the heart of patients’ experiences of care and treatment, we ask the same five questions of all services: are they safe, effective, caring, responsive to people's needs, and well-led? Where we have a legal duty to do so, we rate services’ performance against each key question as outstanding, good, requires improvement or inadequate.

Throughout the inspection, we took account of what people told us and how the provider understood and complied with the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Services we do not rate

We regulate refractive eye surgery but we do not currently have a legal duty to rate them when they are provided as a single specialty service. We highlight good practice and issues that service providers need to improve and take regulatory action as necessary.

Inspection areas

Safe

Updated 9 March 2018

  • The service managed patient safety incidents well.

  • The service used safety monitoring results well.

  • The service controlled infection risk well. .

  • The service had suitable premises and equipment and looked after them well.

  • The service prescribed, gave, recorded and stored medicines well.

  • Staff kept appropriate records of patients’ care and treatment.

  • Staff understood how to protect patients from abuse.

  • The service provided mandatory training in key skills to all staff and made sure everyone completed it.

  • The service had enough staff with the right qualifications, skills, training and experience to keep people safe from avoidable harm and abuse and to provide the right care and treatment.

Effective

Updated 9 March 2018

  • The service provided care and treatment based on national guidance and evidence of its effectiveness.

  • The service monitored the effectiveness of care and treatment and used the findings to improve them.

  • The service made sure staff were competent for their roles.

  • Staff of different kinds worked together as a team to benefit patients.

  • Staff always had access to up-to-date, accurate and comprehensive information on patients’ care and treatment.

  • Staff understood their roles and responsibilities under the Mental Health Act 1983 and the Mental Capacity Act 2005.

Caring

Updated 9 March 2018

  • Staff cared for patients with compassion.

  • Staff involved patients and those close to them in decisions about their care and treatment.

  • Staff provided emotional support to patients to minimise their concerns.

Responsive

Updated 9 March 2018

  • The service planned and provided services in a way that met the needs of local people.

  • People could access the service when they needed it.

  • The service took account of patients’ individual needs.

  • The service treated concerns and complaints seriously, investigated them and learned lessons from the results, which were shared with all staff.

Well-led

Updated 9 March 2018

  • The service had managers with the right skills and abilities to run a service providing high-quality sustainable care.

  • Managers  promoted a positive culture that supported and valued staff, creating a sense of common purpose based on shared values.

  • The service used a systematic approach to continually improving the quality of its services and safeguarding high standards of care by creating an environment in which excellence in clinical care would flourish.

  • The service had effective systems for identifying risks, planning to eliminate or reduce them, and coping with both the expected and unexpected.

Checks on specific services

Refractive eye surgery

Updated 9 March 2018