You are here

Steeton Court Nursing Home Good

We are carrying out a review of quality at Steeton Court Nursing Home. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 11 November 2020

About the service

Steeton Court is a care home providing personal and nursing care to older people and people living with dementia or physical disabilities. At the time of the inspection there were 19 people using the service which can accommodate up to 65 people in this purpose built two storey home.

Rating at last inspection and update: The last rating for this service was inadequate (published 6 December 2019) and there were multiple breaches of regulation. The provider completed an action plan after the last inspection to show what they would do and by when to improve. At this inspection we found improvements had been made and the provider was no longer in breach of regulations.

This service has been in Special Measures since December 2019. During this inspection the provider demonstrated that improvements have been made. The service is no longer rated as inadequate overall or in any of the key questions. Therefore, this service is no longer in Special Measures.

Why we inspected

This inspection was carried out to follow up on action we told the provider to take at the last inspection.

We looked at infection prevention and control measures under the Safe key question. We look at this in all care home inspections even if no concerns or risks have been identified. This is to provide assurance that the service can respond to coronavirus and other infection outbreaks effectively.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the ‘all reports’ link for Steeton Court Nursing Home on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

People’s experience of using this service and what we found

People received safe care and support because systems for assessing and managing risk were robust and staff knew how to safeguard people. Care plans included up to date and comprehensive individual risk assessments which gave staff the information they needed to maintain people’s safety.

New and emerging risks including the effects of COVID-19 had been assessed. Improvements had been made to the systems for managing medicines and regular auditing meant these systems remained safe.

Clear processes were in place to prevent and control infection within the home. The provider had been proactive in following government and local guidance in relation to managing the COVID-19 pandemic.

Systems for recruitment of new staff were safe. Staffing was well organised and was appropriate to the needs of people using the service. Staff received the training and support they needed to care for and support people safely and effectively.

People’s nutritional needs and preferences were assessed, and plans put in place to make sure they were met.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and the provider had made improvements in systems for assessing people’s capacity to make decisions. Staff supported people in the least restrictive way possible and in their best interests; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

The provider assessed peoples’ needs before they began to use the service and regular reviews took place to make sure care plans reflected people’s current needs. People were supported by a range of health and social care professionals to maintain their overall health and wellbeing.

People were supported to make decisions about their care and care plans reflected a person- centred approach.

People were treated with kindness and consideration and care was delivered in way which met people’s dignity and independence needs.

People were supported to maintain relationships to avoid social isolation during the pandemic. Complaints about the service were managed effectively.

Changes in management systems had been effective in improving quality assurance systems. Analysis of accidents and incidents enabled the provider to learn lessons from previous events and implement positive change.

People were unanimous in their feedback in relation to the improvements made at th

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 11 November 2020

The service was safe.

Details are in our safe findings below.

Effective

Good

Updated 11 November 2020

The service was effective.

Details are in our effective findings below

Caring

Good

Updated 11 November 2020

The service was caring.

Details are in our caring findings below.

Responsive

Good

Updated 11 November 2020

The service was responsive.

Details are in our responsive findings below.

Well-led

Good

Updated 11 November 2020

The service was well-led.

Details are in our well-Led findings below.