You are here

The provider of this service changed - see old profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Outstanding

Updated 23 January 2019

This inspection took place on 30 October and 2 November and was unannounced. On the 6 November we returned to provide feedback to the provider, registered manager and office manager. There were no concerns at the last inspection of May 2016. Firgrove House provides accommodation and personal care for up to 20 people, offering 2 rooms for couples if required, and Day Care facilities. At the time of our visit there were 17 people living at the service.

At our last inspection, the service received an overall rating of Good. They had received an outstanding rating in Well Led. At this inspection, we found evidence continued to support the outstanding rating in Well Led and in addition, in Caring and Responsive. This meant the overall rating for the service had improved to Outstanding.

A new manager had been in post since April 2018 and registered with CQC in June 2018. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

The provider told us, “Our new manager brings to Firgrove House years of management experience, passion and fresh vision. Having previously managed an Outstanding service we know that she has already brought an incredibly positive outcome to many clients at Firgrove and our team who support them. We strive to add additional areas to our current Outstanding in Well led and know she is the right manager to make this possible”.

We were introduced to people throughout our visits and they welcomed us. People were relaxed, comfortable and confident in their home. The feedback we received from people was extremely positive throughout. Those people who used the service expressed great satisfaction and spoke highly of all staff and services provided.

Staff involved in this inspection demonstrated a genuine passion for the roles they performed and their individual responsibilities. Visions and plans for the future were understood and shared across the staff team. They embraced new initiatives with the support of the provider, registered manager and colleagues. They continued to look at the needs of people who used the service and ways to improve these so people felt able to make positive changes.

People experienced a lifestyle that met their individual expectations, capacity and preferences. There was a strong sense of empowering people wherever possible and providing facilities where independence would be encouraged and celebrated. People’s health, well-being and safety were paramount.

Staff had the knowledge and skills they needed to carry out their roles effectively. They enjoyed attending training sessions and sharing what they had learnt with colleagues. There was an emphasis on teamwork and unison amongst the staff at all levels. People were supported to enjoy a healthy, nutritious, balanced diet whilst promoting and respecting choice. The ‘residents’ annual surveys consistently reflected how much they enjoyed the quality of food, the variety and the constant access to beverages and snacks through the day.

The registered manager understood their responsibility to comply with the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS). For people who were assessed as not having capacity, records showed that their advocates or families and healthcare professionals were involved in making decisions.

Staff had an excellent awareness of individuals' needs and treated people in a warm, loving and respectful manner. They were knowledgeable about people's lives before they started using the service. Every effort was made to enhance this knowledge so that their life experiences remained meaningful.

People received appropriate care and support because there were effective systems in place to asses

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 23 January 2019

The service remained Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 23 January 2019

The service remained Good.

Caring

Outstanding

Updated 23 January 2019

The service has improved to Outstanding

The service was exceptionally caring.

People who used the service valued the relationships they had with staff and expressed unreserved satisfaction with the care they received.

Staff were passionate about enhancing people�s lives and promoting their well-being.

Staff treated people with dignity, respect and compassion.

People were supported to maintain relationships that were important to them.

Responsive

Outstanding

Updated 23 January 2019

The service has improved to Outstanding

Staff identified how people wished to be supported so that care and support was meaningful and personalised.

Changes in people�s needs were quickly recognised and appropriate prompt action taken, including the involvement of external professionals where necessary.

People were encouraged to pursue personal interests and hobbies and to access activities in the service and community.

People were listened to and staff supported them if they had any concerns or were unhappy.

Well-led

Outstanding

Updated 23 January 2019

The service remained Outstanding.