You are here

Beechwood House Rest Home Inadequate

We are carrying out a review of quality at Beechwood House Rest Home. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Inadequate

Updated 22 November 2018

Beechwood House Rest Home is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. Beechwood House Rest Home accommodates 13 people in one adapted building in a residential area of Bournemouth.

The older people living in Beechwood House Rest Home have care and support needs associated with their physical and mental health.

The inspection visits took place on the 28 September and 2 October 2018. The initial visit was unannounced. We continued to gather evidence form professionals until 11 October 2018.

The service had a registered manager who had been running the home for many years. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

We carried out this inspection in response to information of concern we received alleging that people were receiving unsafe and poor care. We planned to undertake a focused inspection to answer the key questions “Is the service safe?”, “Is the service effective?” and “Is the service well-led?” Following our visits, we continued to receive information of concern from professionals and whilst analysing our evidence we determined that a comprehensive inspection was necessary.

The overall rating for this service is ‘Inadequate’ and the service is therefore in ‘special measures’.

Services in special measures will be kept under review and, if we have not taken immediate action to propose to cancel the provider’s registration of the service, will be inspected again within six months.

The expectation is that providers found to have been providing inadequate care should have made significant improvements within this timeframe.

If not enough improvement is made within this timeframe so that there is still a rating of inadequate for any key question or overall, we will take action in line with our enforcement procedures to begin the process of preventing the provider from operating this service. This will lead to cancelling their registration or to varying the terms of their registration within six months if they do not improve. This service will continue to be kept under review and, if needed, could be escalated to urgent enforcement action. Where necessary, another inspection will be conducted within a further six months, and if there is not enough improvement so there is still a rating of inadequate for any key question or overall, we will take action to prevent the provider from operating this service. This will lead to cancelling their registration or to varying the terms of their registration.

For adult social care services the maximum time for being in special measures will usually be no more than 12 months. If the service has demonstrated improvements when we inspect it and it is no longer rated as inadequate for any of the five key questions it will no longer be in special measures.”

At this inspection, we found that risk management was not sufficient to ensure people received safe care and treatment. Risks related to skin damage, mobility and eating and drinking were not being managed effectively and staff did not always have accurate information about these risks. Risks related to the environment had not been picked up and fire safety checks had not been carried out. This was a breach of the regulations.

Allegations of abuse had not been appropriately responded to. Allegations had been brought to the attention of the registered manager but appropriate agencies had not been notified. This was a breach of the regulations.

Staff followed safe procedures and this ensured that people received their medicines as prescribe

Inspection areas

Safe

Inadequate

Updated 22 November 2018

The service was not safe.

People’s identified risks relating to pressure area care, mobility and receiving adequate fluid were not fully met. This put people at risk of harm.

Environmental risks were not consistently managed.

People were not protected from abuse by robust systems.

People’s medicines were administered safely.

People were supported by staff who had been safely recruited.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 22 November 2018

The service was not always effective because care delivery did not always reflect current good practice.

Staff supported people’s choices about their day to day care.

People were supported by staff who had not had their competency checked appropriately.

People’s rights were protected by the framework of the Mental Capacity Act.

People had a choice of food and drinks available that reflected their likes and dislikes.

Caring

Good

Updated 22 November 2018

People were supported by staff who they described as kind and friendly.

People were supported to maintain independence and their privacy was respected.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 22 November 2018

People told us they received their care and support in ways that suited them.

Care plans were personalised but required some additional information to ensure appropriate care.

People were confident they could raise concerns.

Staff were committed to ensuring people received appropriate care at the end of their lives.

Well-led

Inadequate

Updated 22 November 2018

Auditing systems were not effective in identifying areas that required improvements.

Oversight and safety checks had not been carried out.

Statutory notifications had not been made.

The registered manager was respected by staff and they were committed to improving the quality of the home.