You are here

Nightingales Nursing Home Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 22 February 2018

We inspected Nightingale Nursing Home on 16 and 18 January 2018. The first day of our visit was unannounced. This meant the staff and the provider did not know we would be visiting.

Nightingales Nursing Home provides accommodation and nursing care for up to 38 older people. The service specialises in caring for older people and those who require palliative and end of life care. All accommodation and communal areas are on the ground floor with the majority of bedrooms having ensuite facilities. There is an enclosed courtyard garden for people to use. On the day of our inspection there were 34 people living at the service.

At the last inspection in December 2015, the service was rated Good. At this inspection we found the service remained 'Good'.

The service had a registered manager. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People using the service told us they felt safe living at Nightingales Nursing Home. Relatives we spoke with agreed they were safe living there.

The staff team had received training on the safeguarding of adults and were aware of their responsibilities for keeping people safe from avoidable harm and abuse. The registered manager and the nursing team were aware of their responsibilities for keeping people safe and knew to refer any concerns on to the local authority and Care Quality Commission (CQC).

The risks associated with people’s care and support had been assessed and reviewed.

There were suitable numbers of staff deployed to meet the current care and support needs of the people using the service and to keep them safe. People we spoke with felt there were currently enough members of staff on duty each day because their care and support needs were being met.

People received support from a staff team that had the necessary skills and knowledge. New members of staff had received an induction into the service when they were first employed and training relevant to their role had been provided.

People were supported with their medicines in a safe way. We recommended the registered manager look into the suitability of the fridge used to store medicines to ensure they were being stored in line with manufacturer’s guidelines.

People were provided with a clean and comfortable place to live and there were appropriate spaces to enable people to either spend time with others, or on their own. The staff team had received training in the prevention and control of infection and the necessary protective personal equipment was available.

People’s needs had been assessed prior to them moving into the service to make sure they could be met by the staff team.

The staff team supported people to make decisions about their day to day care and support. They were aware of the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) 2005 and Liberty Protection Safeguards (LPS) ensuring people's human rights were protected. Where people lacked the capacity to make their own decisions, we saw decisions had been made for them in their best interest. Where people required additional support to make decisions, advocacy support was available to them.

People's food and drink requirements had been assessed and a balanced diet was being provided. Records kept for people assessed as being at risk of not getting the food and drinks they needed to keep them well were up to date.

People were supported to maintain good health. They had access to relevant healthcare services and they received on-going healthcare support.

People told us the staff team were kind and caring and treated them with respect. Observations made during our visit confirmed this.

People had care plans in place, the majority of which were up to date and accurate. Those that were not, were updat

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 22 February 2018

The service remains safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 22 February 2018

The service remains effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 22 February 2018

The service remains caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 22 February 2018

The service was responsive.

People�s needs were assessed and they and their relatives were involved in developing their care plan.

People knew how to raise a complaint and were confident that any concern would be dealt with appropriately.

The staff team had received training on end of life/palliative care and people were properly supported when coming to the end of their life.

Well-led

Good

Updated 22 February 2018

The service remains well led.