You are here

Archived: Carol Spinks Homecare Requires improvement

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 15 August 2017

We carried out an announced comprehensive inspection of this service in January 2017. During that inspection we found the service was failing to comply with Regulation 12 Safe care and treatment and Regulation 17 Good governance of the Health and Social Care Act 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. In relation to Regulation 12 Safe care and treatment, we found people’s risk assessments did not identify and ensure risks were minimised. Staff administering medication and assisting people with their mobility had not always been trained to do so. Not all staff had been recruited robustly before commencing employment and some people did not receive visits at times they needed them. In relation to Regulation 17 Good governance we identified that some systems or processes in place to assess, monitor and improve the quality and safety of the service were not always effective. For example, recognising the above issues and ensuring actions were taken. Staff call times were not audited to ensure staff visited at the required times and care records were not audited. Following this inspection in January 2017 we issued two warning notices relating to Regulation 12 and 17 requiring the service to become compliant with the relevant requirements by 21 April 2017. We received a satisfactory action plan from the provider detailing the actions they had taken to meet the regulations.

We then carried out this focussed inspection on 6 July 2017 to check Regulations 12 and 17 had been met. The evidence in this report only relates to the compliance of the warning notice and not the remaining key lines of enquiry for safe. We are unable to change the rating on this key question until the next comprehensive inspection. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for Carol Spinks Homecare on our website at www.cqc.org.uk. We found that all areas referred to in the warning notices had been addressed and Regulations 12 and 17 had been met.

Carol Spinks Homecare is a domiciliary care service that provides care and support to adults of all ages in their own homes. The service provides help with people’s personal care needs in Saltash, Liskeard and Callington and the surrounding areas. At the time of this inspection 80 people were receiving support with their care needs.

The service had a registered manager in post who was also the provider. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission (CQC) to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

All the people and relatives we spoke with told us they were very happy with the service. They felt safe and were very complimentary about their care workers and expressed confidence in the way the service was managed. Three people who had been out when we telephoned, phoned back because they wanted to record their appreciation. One person said, “I really hope they do well in the inspection. They certainly deserve top marks as far as I’m concerned!” Other people commented, “They [staff] chat away to him when they shower him – and it takes his mind off it. I’ve been amazed at how well he has accepted having carers in. He was dead set against it at first but he recognises that they have made life so much better for both of us”, “‘They [staff] are like gold-dust. They are all so good – I do have my favourites though. They are so well trained, so consistent” and “They [staff] treat me wonderfully. I was apprehensive at first of course. But they are so discreet, so understanding. They don’t get embarrassed, so I don’t get embarrassed.”

Staff rotas showed that there were enough staff to meet people’s needs. No-one had experienced a missed visit in the last 12 months and visits were monitored to ensure people received vis

Inspection areas

Safe

Requires improvement

Updated 15 August 2017

People were protected from the risk of harm as risks, including medication and mobility, had been identified and well managed.

People�s needs were met by sufficient numbers of skilled and experienced staff at the agreed times.

People could be sure they received care from suitable staff through thorough recruitment and training processes.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 10 May 2017

The service was not always effective.

Senior managers and staff had received training on the Mental Capacity Act 2005 but had a limited understanding how this applied to the way they supported people to make decisions.

People told us staff asked for their consent before providing care but records did not show when people had refused to receive care. This meant any changes to people�s needs may not be identified as early as possible.

People�s records did not always contain information about their dietary requirements. This placed them at risk of receiving food that did not suit their needs.

Staff training was not always up to date. New staff had not always received required training, such as medicines or moving and handling, before supporting people with these tasks.

People told us staff promoted choice whenever possible.

People were supported by staff who had received an induction. Staff told us this helped them understand people�s needs.

Caring

Good

Updated 10 May 2017

The service was caring.

People and their relatives were positive about the service and the way staff treated the people they supported.

People told us staff respected their privacy and dignity and treated them with respect.

People told us staff supported them to maintain their independence.

Responsive

Good

Updated 10 May 2017

The service was responsive.

Care records were written to reflect people�s individual needs and were regularly reviewed and updated.

People told us staff always offered people choice and were responsive to their needs.

People knew how to make a complaint and raise any concerns. The service took these issues seriously and acted on them in a timely and appropriate manner.

Well-led

Requires improvement

Updated 15 August 2017

There were effective systems in place to monitor the quality and safety of the service and drive on-going improvement.

Where people raised concerns these were taken seriously and acted upon in a timely way.