You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 7 September 2017

The inspection took place on 9 August 2017 and was unannounced. The home provides accommodation and support for people with mental health needs. There were four people living at the home at the time of our inspection.

There was a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

At our last inspection in March 2015 the service was rated Good. At this inspection, the service remained Good.

There were some difficulties at the time of our inspection with relationships and dynamics between people living at the home. This had led to people reporting they didn't always feel safe. However the registered manager was aware of this and working with other professionals to manage the situation and ensure that people were safe.

People received safe support with their medicines. Those people who were managing their own medicines had undergone an assessment to ensure they were safe to do so.

At the time of our visit there were two permanent members of staff in post; a number of staff had recently left their posts for various reasons. Recruitment was under way and the registered manager was using consistent bank staff and agency staff to cover the necessary shifts. Staff who were lone working were able to contact senior staff on call if they needed to.

Staff told us they were well supported with training and supervision to enable them to carry out their roles effectively. Training included safeguarding, medicines and equality and diversity.

There was nobody in the home with a DoLS authorisation in place; we observed how people went out as they pleased. Staff were aware of the principles of the Mental Capacity Act and gave examples of how they put it in to practice.

There were clear plans in place to support people's mental health needs and these were reviewed regularly to ensure they were reflective of people's current needs.

People were supported by staff who were kind and caring and treated people respectfully. People's independence was encouraged and supported. People were able to be involved in planning their own care and running of the service.

People were able to complain and make their views known if they needed to. There was a process in place and we viewed examples of complaints that had been investigated and responded to.

Staff were positive about the support they received from the registered manager and felt able to raise their concerns when necessary.

There were effective systems in place to manage the quality of the service provided.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 7 September 2017

The service remained Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 7 September 2017

The service remained good.

Caring

Good

Updated 7 September 2017

The service remained Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 7 September 2017

At our last inspection, the service was requires improvement. At this inspection we found the service was Good.

Support plans were in place and updated regularly.

People could make a complaint if they wanted to.

Well-led

Good

Updated 7 September 2017

The service remained Good.