You are here

Hatherley Care Home Limited Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 9 June 2018

Hatherley Care Home limited is a care home. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

The inspection of Hatherley Care Home Limited took place on the 10 May 2018 and was unannounced. The inspection was undertaken in the early morning as concerns had been raised with us about staffing levels at this time. As a result we looked at whether the service operated in a safe way. We looked at the availability of staff, the serving of breakfast and how people’s needs were met. No risks, concerns or significant improvement were identified in the remaining Key Questions through our ongoing monitoring or during our inspection activity so we did not inspect them. The previous inspection of 12 and 13 September 2017, found the service was good. At this inspection we concluded that the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence from the inspection that demonstrated any serious concerns.

On the day of our inspection there were 34 people living at Hatherley Care Home Limited, overall the service can cater for 37 people in two units. The service was registered to provide accommodation and nursing care but was not providing nursing care at the time of the inspection.

Hatherley Care Home Limited supports people with a physical frailty and people living with dementia. There was a registered manager in post who had worked at the service for many years. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People told us that they were well cared for by a staff team who knew them well. Staff were observed to be busy but attentive to people’s needs. A dependency tool was used to monitor people’s needs and staffing levels. There were some staff vacancies and the service was recruiting additional staff. The shortfalls in staffing were covered by the existing staff team and agency staff.

This report only covers our findings in relation to the areas we looked at under the key question of Safe. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for (location's name) on our website at www.cqc.org.uk”

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 9 June 2018

The service was safe

Staffing levels met the needs of the people resident.

Effective

Good

Updated 9 June 2018

Caring

Good

Updated 9 June 2018

Responsive

Good

Updated 9 June 2018

Well-led

Good

Updated 9 June 2018