You are here

Archived: Friendship Domiciliary Care Service Good

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 14 December 2018

Friendship care is a domiciliary care service providing a service to people living in their own home. This announced inspection took place on 22 and 24 October 2018. We gave the provider 48 hours’ notice that we would be visiting the service because we wanted to make sure staff and people would be available for us to speak with. At the time of the inspection 67 people were using the service.

At our last inspection on the 18 and 22 December 2015 we rated the service Good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of Good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

On the first day of the inspection we found that not all the information such as complaints record, staff files and care records were not able to assess. The registered manager told us that records were kept in people homes, but also at small office in addition to the registered address, although these were not personal records. The registered manager arranged for all records to be brought to the registered address as all records relating to the service delivery is required to be kept at the registered address.

People were protected and kept safe by staff who understood their roles and responsibilities in relation to protecting them from the risk of abuse and avoidable harm. Potential risks that staff needed to be aware of when supporting people were clearly outlined, regularly reviewed and updated appropriately. Sufficient levels of staff were made available to meet people’s needs.

Medicine was administered as safely as possible. Care staff followed the medication procedure, completed medicine care plans and recorded medicine administration. We found that care plans had details about medication and how to support people with their care needs.

People benefitted from continuity of staff, to ensure that relationships were built and people did not have to endure different staff for their care. The provider ensured that all new staff were provided with an induction before fully commencing in their role and staff received regular supervision to discuss their performance and development needs.

People’s human rights were respected by staff who worked within the principles of the Mental Capacity Act 2005

People were supported with their health care need if required. Families were contacted if a person was unwell.

People continued to be supported by a committed and enthusiastic staff team who delivered care with kindness, respect and understanding. Staff built caring relationships with people and could meet their needs sensitively. The service and care staff were aware of people’s equality and diversity needs and endeavoured to meet them.

People were involved in the planning, assessment and review of their care which included people’s preferences and choices.

People knew who to contact if they were unhappy about any aspect of their care.

There was a system in place to manage the service however the records relating to this were not always completed to ensure that the system was effective.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 14 December 2018

The service remains safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 14 December 2018

The service remains effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 14 December 2018

The service remains Caring

Responsive

Good

Updated 14 December 2018

The service remains responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 14 December 2018

At the last inspection the service was rated outstanding, at this inspection the service is rated Good.