You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 17 January 2019

We carried out this unannounced inspection on 29 November 2018. The service was previously inspected in April 2016 when it was rated as good in all areas. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of Good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

Hapstead Village consists of care home made up of six separate houses and is registered to support up to 48 people with learning disabilities. People in care homes receive accommodation and personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

This service provides care and support to people living in two 'supported living' settings, so that they can live in their own home as independently as possible. In supported living settings people's care and housing are provided under separate contractual agreements. CQC does not regulate premises used for supported living; this inspection looked at the quality of personal care provided in the supported living settings.

At the time of our inspection 36 people were living in the care home and 10 people were receiving supported living care. One of the six houses had been recently extended to enable the service to meet the needs of people as they aged.

The service is based on a campus style mode and had been set up over 30 years previously to provide a home for life for people with learning disabilities. The care service was established before the introduction of Registering the Right Support which is current best practice guidance on how services for people with learning disabilities should been designed. One of the key principles of this guidance is that people with learning disabilities should be supported to live as ordinary a life as any citizen. In Hapstead Village we found that people received personalised care, were supported to be as independent as possible and lived varied and interesting lives.

The service was within one hundred acres of land, including a farm and people were supported to participate in a wide variety of activities both within the service and in the local community. The registered manager told us the service operated, “a college style timetable of activities” and people had the choice of which activities they engaged with (if any). On the day of our inspection people engaged with rural tasks and various craft activities including, metal work, jewellery making, woodwork, pottery and weaving. People took pride in their creations which were exhibited at local craft fairs. People told us they enjoyed the variety of activities available within the service and commented, “I go out at about 8.30 in the morning, collect eggs, and check the hens are alright, “[I am] very happy indeed with my workshops, metal working in morning, and pottery in afternoon” and “I was doing the [donkeys] this morning.”

In addition, each of the six houses had it’s own dedicated transport and people were able to go out in the evening and participate in events within the wider community when they wished. People told us, “I get out a lot, staff can drive. Last week I went to Cornwall” and “I’m Going to [Plymouth] Argyle [football match] at the weekend.” While relative said, “They involve [my relative] in a variety of activities” and “[My relative] is really busy, Workshops during the day and going bowling and to the theatre. They took her on holiday to Majorca last year.”

People told us they felt safe and well cared for. Their comments included, “I feel safe, I am happy living here” and “We all feel safe here.” Staff had received safeguarding training and were confident any safety concern they reported to managers would be addressed. People’s relatives were complimentar

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 17 January 2019

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 17 January 2019

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 17 January 2019

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 17 January 2019

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 17 January 2019

The service remains good.