You are here

Ashfield Nursing & Residential Home Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 1 August 2017

Ashfield Nursing and Residential Home provides accommodation for up to 32 people. Ashfield provides nursing care and residential care for people. There are garden areas and parking facilities available in the grounds of the building. There is access for wheelchairs at the entrance of the home. Ashfield Nursing and Residential Home is situated close to the centre of Wetherby.

At the last inspection in March 2015 the service was rated Good. However a rating of requires improvement had been identified in the ‘safe’ domain with a breach in Regulation 12 HSCA (RA) Regulations 2014 Safe care and treatment. The registered person did not protect service users against the risks associated with unsafe use and management of medicines. This had now been addressed by the management team and good medication practices were in place.

At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

This inspection visit took place on 04 July 2017 and was unannounced.

We looked at how the registered manager and staff had improved their medication procedures. We found medicines had been ordered appropriately, checked on receipt into the home, given as prescribed and stored and disposed of correctly. The registered manager had audits in place to monitor medicines procedures. These meant systems were in place to check people had received their medicines as prescribed.

People who lived at Ashfield Nursing and Residential Home told us they were happy with the care they received and with staff who supported them. We sat with people who lived at the home in the lounge area and observed staff providing support for people throughout our inspection visit. We found they were kind and patient and treated people with respect and dignity. One relative said, “They were all so caring and respectful.”

We found by looking at appropriate documentation and talking with staff they had been recruited safely, received ongoing training relevant to their role and supported by the registered manager. They had the skills, knowledge and experience required to support people in their care. Staffing levels were sufficient to meet the needs of people who lived at the home and nurses were on duty 24 hours of the day.

Risk assessments had been developed to minimise the potential risk of harm to people during the delivery of their care. Care records showed they were reviewed and any changes were recorded.

We looked around the building and found it had been maintained, was clean and hygienic and a safe place for people to live. We found equipment had been serviced and maintained as required.

Staff wore protective clothing such as gloves and aprons when needed. This reduced the risk of cross infection. We found supplies were available around the building for staff to use when required.

People are supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff support them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service support this practice.

People told us they had choices of meals and there were always alternatives if they didn’t want what was on offer. We observed at lunchtime people who required support were attended to in a sensitive manner. People spoke positively about the quality of food. One person who lived at the home said, “The food is superb. Today the lunch was beef wellington it was great.” Care records we looked at described people’s food preferences and any allergies.

We looked at the activities at the home and spoke with people about what was provided. The service employed activity co-ordinators and people who lived at the home made positive comments about them. One person who lived at the home said, “We have a lot going on here and that is down to [activity co coordinators] they are very good and caring people.”

The service had a complaints procedure which was made available to people on their admission to the home and their relatives. No complaints had been received. However people who lived at the home and relat

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 1 August 2017

The service was safe.

We observed medication was administered safely. The registered manager had systems in place to protect people from unsafe management of their medicines.

Staff had received training to safeguard people from harm or abuse which was regularly updated.

We reviewed staffing rotas and found sufficient staff were deployed to meet people�s requirements.

The management team followed safe recruitment procedures.

Effective

Good

Updated 1 August 2017

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 1 August 2017

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 1 August 2017

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 1 August 2017

The service remains Good.