You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 9 June 2017

West Dean Care Home is registered to provide accommodation and personal care for 16 people who need support in order to maintain their mental health or who have a learning disability. At the time of our inspection visit there were 12 people living in the service all of whom lived with problems with their mental health.

The service was run by a company that was the registered provider. There was a registered manager in post. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated regulations about how the service is run. In this report when we speak about both the company and the registered manager we refer to them as being, ‘the registered persons’.

At the last inspection on 27 January 2015 the service was rated Good.

At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

This inspection was announced and was carried out on 26 April 2017. We gave the registered persons a short period of notice. This was because the people who lived in the service had complex needs for care and benefited from knowing in advance that we would be calling.

Care staff knew how to keep people safe from the risk of abuse. Suitable steps had not always been taken to reduce the risk of avoidable accidents. However, in practice people had not experienced direct harm as a result of this oversight. Medicines were safely managed and there were enough staff on duty. Background checks had been completed before new care staff had been appointed.

Care staff knew how to support people in the right way. People enjoyed their meals and they had been helped to obtain all of the healthcare assistance they needed.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and care staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible. Policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

People were treated with compassion and respect. Care staff recognised people’s right to privacy and promoted their dignity. Confidential information was kept private.

People had been given all of the care they needed and they had been supported to pursue their hobbies and interests. There was a system for quickly and fairly resolving complaints.

People had been consulted about the development of their home. Quality checks had usually been effective in ensuring that people received safe care. Care staff were supported to speak out if they had any concerns and good team work was promoted. People had benefited from care staff acting upon good practice guidance.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 9 June 2017

The service remained Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 9 June 2017

The service remained Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 9 June 2017

The service remained Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 9 June 2017

The service was rated as ‘requires improvement’ at the last inspection. This was because people had not been fully supported to pursue their hobbies and interests. At this inspection we found that this shortfall had been addressed.

The service was Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 9 June 2017

The service remained Good.