You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 19 February 2019

We carried out an unannounced inspection of The Grove Care Home on 22 January 2019.

The Grove Care Home provides accommodation, personal and nursing care for up to 39 people, including frail older people and younger people with disabilities. There were 36 people accommodated in the home at the time of the inspection.

The Grove Care Home is a purpose built, single storey home. There are surrounding gardens with an internal private patio area and patio and seating areas with raised flower beds to the rear of the home. A car park was available for visitors. Shops, pubs, churches and other amenities are within walking distance.

At our last inspection of October 2016, the service was rated Good. At this inspection, we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

The management team were committed to the continuous improvement of the service and to improving people’s care. The registered manager collaborated with others to develop the service, improve practice and to attain better outcomes for people living at the home.

Quality assurance systems were robust and used to make improvements in the home. People had a wide range of opportunities to provide feedback on the care provided; consideration was being given to improving communication methods to get them more involved.

Processes were in place to support people with any concerns or complaints. We found some improvements could be made to the process.

People, and their relatives, were happy with the care and support they received. They said staff were kind and caring and respected their right to be treated with dignity and respect. We observed caring and considerate interactions between staff and people living in the home and their visitors. All staff told us they enjoyed working at The Grove Care Home.

Care plans and risk assessments were person centred and provided detailed guidance for staff on how to provide safe and effective care. Arrangements were in place to ensure all care plans were reviewed and updated as people’s needs changed; consideration was being given to improving people’s involvement in this process. Changes in people’s health and well-being were monitored and responded to.

People told us they felt safe living in the home. Staff had received training in the protection of vulnerable adults and knew what action they should take if they suspected or witnessed abuse. Lessons were learned from any accidents, incidents or safeguarding matters.

People received their medicines when they needed them from staff who had been trained and had their competency checked. The home was safe, comfortable and clean. People were engaged in varied activities which met their individual interests. Arrangements were in place to support people with a healthy, balanced diet; people told us they enjoyed the food and had been involved in changes to the menus.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice. Staff understood the importance of acknowledging people’s diversity, treating people equally and ensured they promoted people’s rights.

Arrangements were in place to ensure staff were properly checked before working at the service. We found some improvements could be made to the recruitment process. There were enough numbers of staff on duty to meet people’s needs, meet their preferences and promote their independence. All staff received an induction and the training and support necessary to enable them to deliver effective care.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 19 February 2019

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 19 February 2019

The service remains Effective.

Caring

Good

Updated 19 February 2019

The service remains Caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 19 February 2019

The service remains Responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 19 February 2019

The service remains Well Led.