You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 12 October 2018

This announced inspection was carried out on 13 September 2018. We contacted the service on 12 September 2018 to give notice of our visit because this is a small service and the person living there is often out during the day. We needed to be sure people would be available when we visited.

Newtondale is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as a single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The service provides personal care and accommodation for one person with a learning disability and/or autism.

At our last inspection we rated the service good. At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and on-going monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

The care service has been developed and designed in line with the values that underpin the 'Registering the Right Support' and other best practice guidance. These values include choice, promotion of independence and inclusion. People with learning disabilities and autism using the service can live as ordinary a life as any citizen.

Systems and processes were in place to keep people safe and risks associated with the person’s care needs had been assessed. There were sufficient staff to meet the person’s needs and staff recruitment processes and procedures were robust.

Staff received appropriate induction, supervision and training to provide safe and effective care. The registered manager worked in partnership with healthcare professionals and other organisations to meet the person’s needs.

Observations showed staff were compassionate, kind and caring and had developed good relationships with the person using the service. Staff knew the person well and promoted their dignity and respected their privacy. Care plans detailed and provided staff with guidance on how to meet the individual’s needs. The person using the service was provided with the care, support and equipment they needed to maintain their independence.

The person was supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; policies and procedures in the service supported this practice.

Medicines were managed safely and the individual’s nutritional needs were met. A range of activities were available for the person to participate in. The person using the service was supported to maintain relationships that were important to them.

The registered provider had a procedure for receiving and responding to complaints about the service. Staff spoken with were fully aware of their responsibilities in supporting people if they needed to complain about the service they received. The person using the service had access to an advocate.

The provider and registered manager consistently monitored the quality of the service and made changes to improve and develop the service, taking into account people’s needs and views. The person knew the registered manager and was confident in approaching them. Staff told us the registered manager was approachable and listened.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 12 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 12 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 12 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 12 October 2018

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 12 October 2018

The service has improved to Good.