You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 16 August 2017

Lister Avenue is registered to provide personal care and accommodation for up to twenty five people who have mental health difficulties. The project consists of five adjacent houses, each accommodating up to five people. At the time of this inspection twenty four people lived at The Lister Project.

At the last inspection in July 2014 the service was rated Good.

You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for ‘Lister Avenue on our website at www.cqc.org.uk’

At this unannounced inspection on 19 July and 3 August 2017 we found the service remained Good. The service met all relevant fundamental standards.

The service had a registered manager in post at the time of our inspection. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People who used the service told us they were happy with how care and support was provided at the home. They spoke positively about the staff who supported them and the manager. Everyone we spoke with told us they felt safe living at Lister Avenue.

We saw there were systems in place to protect people from the risk of harm. Staff we spoke with were very knowledgeable about safeguarding people and were able to explain the procedures to follow should an allegation of abuse be made. Assessments identified risks to people and management plans were in place to reduce the risks this ensured people’s safety.

We found the service to be meeting the requirements of the Mental Capacity Act 2005 and Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS). The staff we spoke with had a good understanding and knowledge of this topic.

Systems were in place to ensure people received their medications in a safe and timely way from staff who were appropriately trained and competent.

There was enough skilled and experienced staff on duty to meet people’s needs. Recruitment systems were robust, so helped the employer make safer recruitment decisions when employing new staff. New staff had received an induction into how the home operated and their job role. This was followed by regular refresher and specialist training to meet the needs of the people using the service.

People were supported to eat and drink sufficient to maintain a balanced diet and adequate hydration.

People’s needs had been assessed before they moved to the home and had been involved in the planning of their care. Care files checked reflected people’s care and support. However, we found the care files were not easy to follow and it was difficult to find information. This was being addressed by the registered manager.

People had access to a varied programme of activities which provided regular in-house stimulation, as well as trips out into the community. People said they enjoyed the activities they took part in.

A complaints policy was available to people using and visiting the service. The people we spoke with told us they had no complaints, but said if they had a concern they would raise it with staff. We saw when concerns had been raised they had been investigated and resolved in a timely manner.

There were systems in place to monitor and improve the quality of the service provided. These had identified areas that needed improvement and action had been taken. However, minor infection control issues we identified at the inspection had not been identified but were actioned immediately. People were listened to and the provider actively sought the views of people who used the service, relatives and external professionals.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 16 August 2017

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 16 August 2017

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 16 August 2017

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 16 August 2017

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 16 August 2017

The service remains Good.