You are here

Grove House Residential Dementia Care Home Inadequate

We are carrying out a review of quality at Grove House Residential Dementia Care Home. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Inadequate

Updated 19 June 2019

About the service: Grove House Residential Dementia Care Home provides accommodation and personal care for a maximum of five adults who may have dementia care needs. At the time of this inspection, there were four people using the service.

People’s experience of using this service:

The quality of care had deteriorated since the last inspection. People's welfare and safety had been placed at risk due to a lack of staff, vigilance and effective management of the service.

During our last inspection on 6 June 2018 we found the provider was in breach of Regulation 17 of the Health and Social Care Act (HSCA) 2008 (Regulated Activities) Regulations 2014. The registered provider did not always operate effective systems to assess, monitor and the improve the quality of service provided to people who used the service. At this inspection we found the provider still did not make significant improvements. Deficiencies were not promptly identified and rectified.

During our last inspection on 6 June 2018 we found the provider was in breach of Regulation 12 HSCA RA Regulations 2014 Safe care and treatment. The registered person did not ensure the safe and proper management of medicines. At this inspection we found the provider continued to have deficiencies in the safe and proper management of medicines.

During our last inspection on 6 June 2018 we found the provider was in breach Regulation 18 HSCA RA Regulations 2014 Staffing. Staff did not receive appropriate support, training and professional development to enable them to carry out the duties. At this inspection we found the provider had ensured that staff were provided with support and training.

People who used the service had dementia and three of them did not provide us with their view regarding the quality of the care provided. One person stated that they were not fully satisfied with the services provided. Feedback from two of the three relatives indicated that they were not fully satisfied with some aspects of the care provided.

Arrangements were in place to help ensure people were protected from the risk of abuse. Staff had received training on how to safeguard people.

Risk assessments had been documented. Risk assessments covered areas such as the environment, physical health and personal care. We however noted that there was a lack of documented information about control measures and action required to reduce certain potential risks such as those associated with behaviour which challenged the service and danger posed by the steep stairs. The registered manager told us that they were aware of how to manage behaviour which challenged the service and they would prepare a risk assessment for the steep stairs.

The home had a procedure to ensure that people received their prescribed medicines. Staff had received medicines administration training. Our pharmacist specialist advisor however, noted a number of errors associated with the administration of medicines and these included errors in the administration of a controlled drug and inadequate recording. We found a breach of regulation in respect of this.

Most staff had been carefully recruited. However, one staff member did not have documented evidence of their right to work in this country. The registered manager stated that this person had permission to work in this country but their documents were with the Home Office. We found a breach of regulation in respect of these deficiencies.

The home had inadequate staffing levels. This meant that people’s care needs and certain duties such as care documentation and ensuring the cleanliness of the home may not always be attended to. We found a breach of regulation in respect of this.

The premises were not well maintained, and we noted several deficiencies. These included fire safety deficiencies identified by us and the fire authorities. The garden was overgrown, and this meant that people were not able to use it. There was no current safety inspection certificate for the elec

Inspection areas

Safe

Inadequate

Updated 19 June 2019

The service was not always safe.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 19 June 2019

Some aspects of the service were not effective.

Caring

Requires improvement

Updated 19 June 2019

Some aspects of the service were not caring.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 19 June 2019

Some aspects of the service were not responsive.

Well-led

Inadequate

Updated 19 June 2019

The service was not always well led.