You are here

Keer Sands Residential Home Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 17 November 2017

This is a care home for 10 people which features eight single rooms and one double. All bedrooms have hand washing facilities and bathrooms and toilets are of easy access on both floors. There is stair lift access to the first floor. The home is situated in a rural area outside Carnforth. There is parking facilities available with views of the countryside on all sides. At the time of the inspection visit nine people lived at the home.

At the last inspection in July 2015 the service was rated Good. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

This inspection visit took place on 26 October 2017 and was unannounced.

People who lived at Keersands told us staff were kind and caring towards them. For example one person said, “They are so kind as you can see I need help and they do it so gently and confidently. They are lovely people.”

We observed during the inspection visit staff and the management team providing support to people to the bathroom and sitting chatting with them. We witnessed staff being kind and respectful throughout the day. One person who lived at the home said, “Very kind and caring people.”

Keersands had systems in place to record safeguarding concerns, accidents and incidents and take necessary action as required. Staff had received safeguarding training and understood their responsibilities to report unsafe care or abusive practices.

Risk assessments had been developed to minimise the potential risk of harm to people during the delivery of their care and when outside the building. These had been kept under review and were relevant to the care provided.

Staff had been recruited safely, appropriately trained and supported. They had skills, knowledge and experience required to support people with their care and social needs.

The management team had sufficient staffing levels in place to provide support people required. People told us staff were responsive and available when they needed them. One person who lived at the home said, “We are a small family friendly home everyone is looked after by staff who know what they are about.”

We looked around the building and found it had been maintained, was clean and hygienic and a safe place for people to live. We found equipment had been serviced and maintained as required.

The management team had systems to protect people from unsafe management of their medicines. Recordkeeping was completed correctly and we found staff responsible for medicines were trained and competency tested by regular auditing of medication procedures.

Care records we looked at were informative and reviewed on a regular basis. They were up to date to ensure people received the right care and attention.

People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff support them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service support this practice.

People who lived at Keersands told us they had choices of meals and there were always alternatives if they did not like what was offered on the day. We observed at lunchtime people who required support were attended to in a sensitive, caring manner. Comments about the quality of food included, “Excellent no one can grumble.” Another person said, “The home made biscuits and cakes everyday are truly lovely.”

We found people who lived at the home had access to healthcare professionals and their healthcare needs had been met.

People who lived at the home told us they enjoyed a variety of activities and games which staff organised. These included board games, skittles and reminiscence afternoons. One person who lived at Keersands said, “I did some baking at the weekend and really enjoyed it.”

People told us staff were caring towards them. Staff we spoke with understood the importance of high standards of care to give people who lived at the home the best support possible.

The registered manager/owner had information with regards to support from an external advocate should this be required by people who lived at the home.

The registered manager/owner had a complaints procedure which was made available to people on their admission to the home and their relatives. People we spoke with told us they were happy and had no complaints. One relative said, “Never had to complain this is a wonderful home.”

The registered manager/owner used a variety of methods to assess and monitor the quality of the service. These included, staff and ‘resident’ meetings. In addition audits were carried out to ensure the service provided for people continued to improve and be monitored.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 17 November 2017

The service remains Good.

Effective

Good

Updated 17 November 2017

The service remains Good.

Caring

Good

Updated 17 November 2017

The service remains Good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 17 November 2017

The service remains Good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 17 November 2017

The service remains Good.