You are here

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 19 September 2018

Prados Home Help Services provides care and support to people living in their own home. At the time of our inspection 17 people were using the service.

At our last inspection on 17 May 2015 we rated the service good. However, we found a breach of Regulation 11 of The Health and Social Care Act 2008. Need for consent. At this inspection we found improvement had been made and the provider was no longer in breach. The evidence we obtained continued to support the rating of good. There was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

The inspection was carried out on 24 July 2018 and was conducted by one inspector.

There was a registered manager at the service. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are 'registered persons'. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

People told us they felt safe when receiving a service at home and were supported to have choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice.

There were sufficient staff available to ensure people's wellbeing, safety and security was protected. An appropriate recruitment and selection process was in place which ensured new staff had the right skills and were suitable to work with people living in their own home. Staff had a good understanding of systems in place to manage medicines and safeguarding matters.

People were supported to manage their medicines safely.

The service was working within the legal requirements of the Mental Capacity Act (2005) (MCA).

People we spoke with said they were involved in care planning and were confident that their comments and concerns would be acted upon.

The provider took account of any complaints and comments to improve the service.

Risk assessments were in place for a number of areas and were regularly updated, and staff had a good knowledge and understanding of people's health conditions.

Feedback received from people who used the service and their relatives was overwhelmingly positive and people were encouraged to contribute their views.

People were positive about the staff who supported them and told us they liked the staff and were treated with dignity and kindness.

People were satisfied with the support they received in relation to nutrition and hydration. There was an open and transparent culture and encouragement for people to provide feedback.

People told us they were aware of how to make a complaint and were confident they could express any concerns which would be addressed.

Staff told us they enjoyed working for the organisation and spoke positively about the culture and management of the service. They also told us that they were encouraged to openly discuss any issues.

Further information is in the detailed findings below.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 19 September 2018

The service remains safe.

Effective

Good

Updated 19 September 2018

The service had improved to good.

Staff undertook appropriate training in how to apply the MCA.

Staff received sufficient and effective support and supervision.

People were supported to access healthcare when required.

Caring

Good

Updated 19 September 2018

The service remains caring.

Responsive

Good

Updated 19 September 2018

The service remains responsive.

Well-led

Good

Updated 19 September 2018

The service remains well-led.