You are here

Archived: Autumn Lodge - Hove Good

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 5 May 2017

The inspection took place on the 28 March 2017 and was unannounced.

Autumn Lodge - Hove provides personal care and accommodation for up to 36 people. On the day of our inspection there were 36 older people at the service, some who were living with dementia. The service is spread over three floors with a passenger lift, communal lounge/dining room and conservatory leading to the garden.

At the last inspection on 21 November 2014, the service was rated Good. At this inspection we found the service remained Good.

People and relatives told us they felt the service was safe. One person told us, “I feel protected”. A relative said, “Yes, it feels safe”. People remained protected from the risk of abuse because staff understood how to identify and report it.

The provider had arrangements in place for the safe ordering, administration, storage and disposal of medicines. People were supported to get their medicine safely when they needed it. People were supported to maintain good health and had access to health care services.

Staff considered peoples capacity using the Mental Capacity Act 2005 (MCA) as guidance. People’s capacity to make decisions had been assessed. People were supported to have maximum choice and control of their lives and staff supported them in the least restrictive way possible; the policies and systems in the service supported this practice. The provider was meeting the requirements of the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DoLS).

People and their relatives felt staff were skilled to meet the needs of people and provide effective care. A relative said, “I would say they are well trained. We were here when there was an emergency and they dealt with it very well”.

People remained encouraged to express their views and had completed surveys. Feedback received showed people were satisfied overall, and felt staff were friendly and helpful. People and relatives also said they felt listened to and any concerns or issues they raised were addressed.

Staff supported people to eat and drink and they were given time to eat at their own pace. People’s nutritional needs were met and people reported that they had a good choice of food and drink. One person told us, “The food is freshly cooked, I like his cream of potatoes. I always ask for extra portions”.

Staff felt fully supported by management to undertake their roles. Staff were given training updates, supervision and development opportunities. One member of staff told us, “There are weekly meetings for staff to talk with the manager. We get supervision, it updates our progress and is very useful”.

The service had a relaxed and homely feel. Everyone we spoke with spoke highly of the caring and respectful attitude of a consistent staff team which we observed throughout the inspection. A relative told us, “[My relative] has done very well and been helped by the staff”.

People’s individual needs were assessed and care plans were developed to identify what care and support they required. People were consulted about their care to ensure wishes and preferences were met. Staff worked with other healthcare professionals to obtain specialist advice about people’s care and treatment.

People, staff and relatives found the management team approachable and professional. A relative said, “[The manager] has been excellent”.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 5 May 2017

The service remains Good

Effective

Good

Updated 5 May 2017

The service remains Good

Caring

Good

Updated 5 May 2017

The service remains Good

Responsive

Good

Updated 5 May 2017

The service remains Good

Well-led

Good

Updated 5 May 2017

The service remains Good