You are here

Archived: The Grove and The Courtyard Good

The provider of this service changed - see new profile

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 13 September 2018

This inspection took place on 30 August 2018 and was announced. It was a focussed inspection looking at the well-led domain only, so we gave the registered manager short notice (the day before) of our inspection to make sure they would be in to assist us.

We carried out an unannounced comprehensive inspection of this service in April 2016. A breach of legal requirements was found in relation to displaying inspection ratings. We wrote to the provider to remind them of their requirements to display their inspection rating.

We undertook this focused inspection to confirm they now met legal requirements, and saw that they were now displaying their inspection rating. This report only covers our findings in relation to those requirements and the well-led domain. You can read the report from our last comprehensive inspection, by selecting the 'all reports' link for The Grove and The Courtyard on our website at www.cqc.org.uk.

The Grove and The Courtyard is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. It offers care to people with general and specialist mental health needs and can accommodate up to 55 people. At the time of our inspection 53 people were using the service.

There was a registered manager in place. A registered manager is a person who has registered with the Care Quality Commission to manage the service. Like registered providers, they are ‘registered persons’. Registered persons have legal responsibility for meeting the requirements in the Health and Social Care Act 2008 and associated Regulations about how the service is run.

The registered manager had informed CQC of significant events in a timely way by submitting the required notifications. The registered manager and provider carried out a number of quality assurance checks to monitor and improve standards at the service. Feedback was sought and acted on. People benefited from the service’s close links with the local community.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 13 September 2018

Effective

Good

Updated 13 September 2018

Caring

Good

Updated 13 September 2018

Responsive

Good

Updated 13 September 2018

Well-led

Good

Updated 13 September 2018

The service was well-led.

Staff spoke positively about the culture and values of the service.

The registered manager carried out a range of quality assurance checks to monitor and improve standards at the service.

Feedback was sought and acted on.