You are here

Abbeyfield Silverdale & District Society Limited Good

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 31 May 2018

Abbeyfield Silverdale & District Society Limited was inspected on the17 and 23 April 2018 and the first day of the inspection was unannounced. Abbeyfield Silverdale & District Society Limited is registered to provide personal care for up to 22 older people who require support with personal care. At the time of the inspection there were 21 people receiving support.

Abbeyfield Silverdale & District Society Limited is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection. The home is situated in the village of Silverdale. It is a large detached property in its own grounds in a residential area overlooking the sea. The home is set on two floors with a lift to the first floor. There are large gardens surrounding the home which are accessible to people who live at the home.

At our last inspection in April 2016 the service was rated ‘Good.’ At this inspection we found the evidence continued to support the rating of good and there was no evidence or information from our inspection and ongoing monitoring that demonstrated serious risks or concerns. This inspection report is written in a shorter format because our overall rating of the service has not changed since our last inspection.

The registered manager completed a series of checks and investigations to identify where improvements were required in the quality of the service provided. Staff told us they were informed of the outcomes of these. We noted some of the checks were not documented, therefore action plans were not developed. We have made a recommendation regarding improving the audit and investigation recording process.

The home was introducing an electronic care record system. We found that the system was in use and information from paper based records was being transferred to the electronic system. Care records contained information regarding risks and guidance for staff on how risks were to be managed. We found one care record required updating as information was not consistent with the person’s needs. Prior to the inspection concluding we were informed this had been done. We have made a recommendation regarding the documenting of people’s needs and wishes.

Staff we spoke with knew the needs and wishes of people who lived at the home. Staff spoke fondly of the people they supported and said they wanted to enable people to live happy lives. Staff were gentle and patient with people who lived at the home and people told us they felt respected and valued.

Relatives told us they were consulted and involved in their family members care. People we spoke with confirmed they were involved in their care planning if they wished to be and spoke highly of the level of involvement they were offered.

Staff we spoke with were able to describe the help and support people required to maintain their safety and people who lived at the home told us they felt safe.

People told us they were happy with the way their medicines were managed. We observed medicines being administered and saw this was carried out in a safe way. Access to medicines was restricted to staff who had received training to ensure medicines were administered and managed safely.

People told us they had access to healthcare professionals and their healthcare needs were met. Documentation we viewed showed people were supported to access further healthcare advice if this was appropriate. People and relatives told us they were happy with the care at support provided at Abbeyfield Silverdale & District Society Limited.

People told us they could raise their views on the service provided and they felt involved in the running of the home. We saw minutes of meetings where people at the home were informed of changes and were asked their opinion on the service provided.

People told us they had a choice of meals to choose from

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 31 May 2018

The service remains good.

Effective

Good

Updated 31 May 2018

The service remains good.

Caring

Good

Updated 31 May 2018

The service remains good.

Responsive

Good

Updated 31 May 2018

The service remains good.

Well-led

Good

Updated 31 May 2018

The service remains good.