You are here

Archived: The Firs Specialist Residential Home

All reports

Inspection report

Date of Inspection: 30 December 2010 and 18 March 2011 and 17 December 2012
Date of Publication: 12 May 2011
Inspection Report published 12 May 2011 PDF | 203.35 KB

Suitable management of services is provided (outcome 24)

Meeting this standard

We checked that people who use this service

  • Have their needs met because it is managed by an appropriate person.

How this check was done

We reviewed all the information we hold about this provider, carried out a visit on 30/12/2010, 18/03/2011, 17/12/2012, checked the provider's records, observed how people were being cared for, looked at records of people who use services, talked to staff and talked to people who use services.

Our judgement

There is no registered manager in post.

The appointed manager has been in post since the beginning of October 2010 but has not applied to become the registered manager. She has no management experience and did not demonstrate that she had the knowledge to manage the service.

Overall, we found that The Firs Specialist Residential Home was not meeting this essential standard and propose to take enforcement action to address these concerns.

User experience

People who use this service made no specific comments about this outcome.

Other evidence

The appointed manager who has been in post since 4th October 2010 confirmed that she was waiting for her Criminal Records check to be returned before she submits her application to become the registered manager.

When she was asked about her understanding of the essential standards of quality and safety. She acknowledged that she did not have a working knowledge of these.