You are here

We are carrying out a review of quality at InHealth Waterloo. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Good

Updated 20 September 2019

InHealth Waterloo is operated by InHealth Limited. The service provides MRI (Magnetic Resonance Imaging) diagnostic imaging facilities for children aged 14 and above and adults.

We inspected the areas covered by the warning notice issued following our comprehensive inspection in November 2018. We carried out an unannounced follow up inspection on 10 July 2019.

The main service provided by this service was MRI diagnostic imaging.

Services we rate

When we inspected the service in November 2019 it had been the first time we had rated this service and we rated the service it as requires Improvement overall.

We found areas of practice that required improvement in this service.

  • Effective systems were not in place to keep people protected from avoidable harm.

  • Infection prevention and control measures were not fully established. The environment in the scanning room was not visibly clean. There was no cleaning schedule or checklist for the scanning rooms. Staff were not always bare below the elbow, which was their policy.

  • Stock control was poorly managed, and multiple items of out of date single use equipment were found.

  • Medicines were not always stored in a locked cupboard, which was a risk to patients and the public.

  • The oxygen cylinder from the resuscitation trolley was empty, which had not been identified by staff in the daily checks.

  • The staff were not aware of the fringe field area around the MRI scanner which contact with could cause harm to some patients.

  • The service was not safeguarding patients from the risk of falls by using wooden steps to get on to and off the scanning table. The wooden steps did not have a handrail.

  • Processes were not sufficiently in place to ensure the correct patient received the correct scan on the correct area of the body.

  • Staff did not always feel supported or listened to. The service did not always engage well with staff.

  • There was not a positive culture that supported and valued staff. Staff morale was low.

During the follow up inspection which took place on the 10 July 2019 we found all the areas for improvement had been addressed.

  • We found system had been set up to ensure staff followed expected infection prevention and control practices, and compliance with these were monitored. Cleanliness of the service had improved because of this.

  • Stock control had improved and was managed well. Medicines management including oxygen cylinders monitoring had improved and was monitored adequately.

  • The MRI fringe fields had been defined and staff were aware of them.

  • The wooden steps had been replaced with metal steps with a handrail, which were safer for patients who were unsteady on their feet.

  • Processes were now in place which ensured patients were given the correct scan on the correct part of their body.

  • Staff morale had improved; staff felt listened to and they now had access to development opportunities which they had not had access to before.

  • Over all we found the service had made a marked improvement since the last inspection.

Dr Nigel Acheson

Deputy Chief Inspector of Hospitals (London and South)

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 20 September 2019

Effective

Updated 20 September 2019

Caring

Good

Updated 20 September 2019

Responsive

Good

Updated 20 September 2019

Well-led

Good

Updated 20 September 2019

Checks on specific services

Diagnostic imaging

Good

Updated 20 September 2019

Diagnostics was the only activity the service provided.

We rated this service as requires improvement because there were areas of concern in safe and well led.