You are here

Crossways Nursing Home Requires improvement

We are carrying out a review of quality at Crossways Nursing Home. We will publish a report when our review is complete. Find out more about our inspection reports.

Inspection Summary


Overall summary & rating

Requires improvement

Updated 12 June 2019

About the service:

Crossways Nursing Home is a ‘care home’. People in care homes receive accommodation and nursing or personal care as single package under one contractual agreement. CQC regulates both the premises and the care provided, and both were looked at during this inspection.

Crossways Nursing Home accommodates 18 people in one adapted building. At the time of our inspection there were 11 people living at the home, some of whom were living with dementia.

For more details, please see the full report which is on the CQC website at www.cqc.org.uk

People’s experience of using this service:

This was a focused inspection following up on previous concerns, which looked at both the safe and the well-led domains. Although, both of these domains are now rated good, it does not change the overall rating for the service, which remains requires improvement. More information is in the full report, which is on the CQC website at: www.cqc.org.uk

People told us they felt safe and there were appropriate systems were in place to protect people from the risk of abuse.

There were enough staff to meet people’s needs. The provider had effective systems in place to ensure safe recruitment practices.

Individual and environmental risks were managed appropriately.

Management processes were in place to monitor and improve the quality of the service. There was a positive, open and empowering culture.

Rating at last inspection:

The service was rated as requires improvement at the last full comprehensive inspection (published 18 November 2018).

Why we inspected:

At the last inspection we identified three breaches of the regulations. Following that inspection, we asked for an action plan and issued a Warning Notice, which required the provider to be compliant in respect of a repeated breach of Regulation 17 ‘Good Governance’ by 30 November 2018.

This was a focused inspection to check whether the provider had taken action in respect of the Warning Notice to ensure they were compliant with Regulation 17 ‘Good Governance’. Therefore, the inspection only looked at two key questions as to; was the home safe? and was the home well-led?

At this focused inspection we found the provider had taken action required and the service was no longer in breach of this regulation.

Follow up:

We will continue to monitor the intelligence we receive about this service and plan to inspect in line with our re-inspection schedule for services rated as requires improvement.

Inspection areas

Safe

Good

Updated 12 June 2019

The service was safe

Details are in our Safe findings below.

Effective

Requires improvement

Updated 8 November 2018

The service was not always effective.

People’s needs and choices were not always accurately documented as records did not show that people and their relatives were involved in planning their care.

The provider did not comply with some requirements of the MCA 2005 when delivering care, as some best interest decisions had not been documented.

Staff had completed the required training to support people’s needs. People were supported to maintain a healthy diet.

Staff worked with health and social care professionals to provide care for people.

The home had been adapted to better meet the needs of people living with dementia.

Caring

Good

Updated 8 November 2018

The service was caring.

Staff had kind and compassionate relationships with people.

Staff encouraged people to express their needs.

Staff upheld people’s privacy and dignity when providing care and support.

Responsive

Requires improvement

Updated 8 November 2018

The service was not always responsive.

People did not always receive personalised care which met their needs. Care plans did not contain sufficient, personalised information to aid staff in providing responsive care.

There was a complaints policy in place and people and their relatives were supported to raise concerns.

There was not enough evidence to show that care for people at the end of their life had been fully considered.

Well-led

Good

Updated 12 June 2019

The service was well-led

Details are in our Well-Led findings below.